This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Where Do I Buy gluten-free, Soy Free Ingredients Cheap?

Noura

Noura Rookie

I am new to gluten-free and now it looks like I might have a problem with soy as well. So I am going gluten and soy free. I want to make more things from scratch but I don't know where to buy them without destroying the grocery budget. Does anyone know of a co-op or something that I can buy bulk or just cheaper? My grocery bill has more than doubled and I can't sustain that for long.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

celiac-mommy Collaborator

I am new to gluten-free and now it looks like I might have a problem with soy as well. So I am going gluten and soy free. I want to make more things from scratch but I don't know where to buy them without destroying the grocery budget. Does anyone know of a co-op or something that I can buy bulk or just cheaper? My grocery bill has more than doubled and I can't sustain that for long.

I buy all my flours directly from www.bobsredmill.com If you buy the flours in bulk, it's soooo much cheaper (like ~1$/pound)! Other than that, I basically buy only whole foods-fruits, veggies, organic milks and cheeses for my kids (I'm vegan). Quinoa noodles, rice, etc... I actually find that I spend a lot less on food than I used to, but we also cut down eating out from 2-3x a week to 2-3x a month. I feed a family of 4 for ~100$ a week and it's almost all organic.

lcbannon Apprentice