This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Where Your Contribution Counts!
    eNewsletter
    Support Us!

Confused By Biopsy Results

DebbieM

DebbieM Rookie

Hi...

This is my first time to this website. Just looking for some advice.

Wondering if anyone has had similar biopsy results or has any opinions about what my dr. told me.

Just a little background: I tested negative on the celiac panel bloodtest; positive for both genes on the DNA test; was gluten free for 9 months and then did a 3 month gluten challenge before this biopsy.

My results were: "Benign Inflammation of Small Intestine-suggestive of mild, early celiac disease, but not diagnostic of this" AND "may need longer on gluten containing diet to develop the changes needed for more definite diagnosis".

ANY input would be very greatly appreciated.

I know it would make sense to just go gluten free, but I have a very, very strong desire to know 100% if I have celiac.

Thanks,

Debbie

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

mushroom Proficient

Hi...

This is my first time to this website. Just looking for some advice.

Wondering if anyone has had similar biopsy results or has any opinions about what my dr. told me.

Just a little background: I tested negative on the celiac panel bloodtest; positive for both genes on the DNA test; was gluten free for 9 months and then did a 3 month gluten challenge before this biopsy.

My results were: "Benign Inflammation of Small Intestine-suggestive of mild, early celiac disease, but not diagnostic of this" AND "may need longer on gluten containing diet to develop the changes needed for more definite diagnosis".