Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
danaf617

Wegman's Gluten-Free Labeling

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I am a loyal Wegmans customer and it's where I do 95% of the shopping for my family. I love love love Wegmans! I buy many store-brand items and have always noticed the L, G, V, and other wellness labels on the packaging.

Now that I'm going gluten-free and learning to read labels, I'm curious about what constitutes Gluten-Free according to Wegman's. Their site says:

This little orange

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm not familiar with Wegman's brand. But their statement sounds pretty good. There can definately be "natural flavorings" that don't contain gluten.

I think when people are wary of "natural flavorings" it's when they dont' know what's in them and they are not labeled gluten-free.

I think I'll start going there more often though! Sounds like a good resource. Whole Food's gluten-free brand contains milk in a lot of their products so that's a no-go for me.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'd be more wary of Elizabeth Hasselback than I would Wegman's labeling, honestly. Natural flavorings could be source of gluten, but I've found that to be very, very rare in practice. If the natural flavoring had wheat in it, wheat would have to be listed on the label. So you're only looking at the possibility of barley, oats, or rye hiding in that natural flavoring, which again, is usually very unlikely. JMHO, of course. I haven't been a fan of Elizabeth Hasselback's book or appearances about gluten-free because I don't think she has a high-degree of accuracy in how she conveys the gluten-free diet. I try not to get too nit-picky, though, because it is nice to have a celebrity type person who "represents" the importance of a gluten-free diet.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have been gluten free for 8 years. I have not even once been glutened by any Wegmans product. They will not even label items with distilled gluten grain vinegars as gluten free (unlike other companies), the reason why not all their pickles carry the label. I once called them when I noticed that the large package of cashews had the gluten-free label but not the small to ask them why. The response was that they were made and packaged in different plants and the smaller package might have CC issues. The Wegmans family has celiac's who are supersensitive like myself and they take great care to make sure that the items that are labeled gluten free are gluten free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh this makes me so happy to hear! Like I said, I love the store and their labeling system will surely make this transition easier. :)

Thanks everyone for the replies!

And I'm interested in the review of Elisabeth Hasselbeck. I like her as a celebrity figure so I was drawn to grab her book first. Easy read too, I only got it around 6pm last night and finished it last night when my kids went to bed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If a Wegman's product has the little orange G, I trust it. Wegman's is one of the only store brands I trust, and I often trust them more than many name brands. And a prior poster is correct, they often do not label things that I would consider gluten free because there might be some slight controversy (like grain vinagar) or a chance of CC.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh how I wish that I had a Wegmans store near me...:( We have a warehouse 5 minutes away..but no store.Shopping for gluten-free items can be so frustrating and it would be wonderful to shop in a store that stickers gluten-free foods.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×