Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Coolclimates

Constant Cravings!

One thing I've noticed since going on the gluten-free diet is that I have constant cravings for baked goods, ice cream, sweets and carbs (pasta, esp). I've been a baker all my life and have always eaten a fair amount of baked goods (but not out of control). Before I started this diet, I had a lot of cravings, too, but not as much as I do now. I just have to use all the willpower I have not to grab everything sweet and wolf it down.

Does anyone else have this problem? I've been on the gluten-free since early May. Does it eventually go away?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

I too have had this problem. That and craving fast food... which I NEVER eat! I am been gluten free since April and I am still fighting it. I am not sure why this is, but hopefully someone out there will know. Just wanted you to know you are not alone. :)

Yep, I'm hungry all the time and craving stuff I wouldn't normally bother with. I'm gluten-free since end of February.My consumption of chocolate is much higher than it ever was. My weight is up every week and I didn't need to put any on to begin with. It had better ease up soon or I will become overweight and then obese.

Digestive issues since childhood

Unexplained anemia since 1999

Eating-related nausea for over 4 years

Tested positive for H.pylori and was treated

Unexplained elevated liver enzymes since 2008

Condition deteriorated badly upon moving to Middle East July 2009

Severe diarrhea and vomiting

Positive antibody tests February 2010

Positive endoscopy March 2010

Gluten free since 21st February 2010