Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
jasonD2

gluten-free Beer- Puzzled

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Many of u probably heard of the new Daura gluten free beer. anyway, i tried it last night and had a euphoric experience cause i forgot how much i loved beer. however, when i got back to my hotel room an hr later i felt pins and needles in my arms and legs and also felt like my circulation was being cut off. i slept for 3 hrs and woke up at 3 and couldnt fall back asleep cause i had a headache and felt lousy. this beer is supposed to contain less than 6 ppm of gluten so how could i have possibly reacted to this? i eat out all the time and while im careful im sure i get hit with trace amts of gluten here and there...its unavoidable but i never felt as poorly as i did last night.

on my allergy test i tested high positive for barley so is there a chance i was reacting to the barley and not necessarily the gluten? whats the deal...this beer is being marketed to people with celiac and many restaurants are carrying it now. the site even said it was tested on people with the most severe for of celiac and they were fine.

please enlighten me

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You're allergic to barley and you drank beer made of barley.... :blink:

You're still allergic to barley.

This has been another simple answer to simple questions.

I personally, do not try to consume things that I know I am allergic to or have an auto immune reaction to, despite the assurances of the manufacturer that is will "be okay." But that's just little ole cynical me, who doesn't intend to die from one of those bad reactions.

Congrats you've probably saved a few more people from getting sick.

______

edited to add a review here, check out the comments

http://noglutennoproblem.blogspot.com/2010/10/product-review-estrella-damm-daura.html

See the comments about peptides

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

hey ya live ya learn, right?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You did good. B)

All this internet chatter about the new gluten-free Daura beer and here we find out that the stuff is made of barley.

Read the link. One person said it tasted like Stoh's. :lol: :lol: :lol: Must be the "imported from Spain" that's the marketing hook.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for letting us know you did react to it. You may have saved some of us who would have been tempted to try from the pain.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well... I'm not sure how something made from barley could be on anyone's "gluten free" list. Barley contains gluten!

If you want a truly gluten free beer try one of the sorghum ones. Redbridge is the only one I've tried so far and I liked it, especially when it was nice and cold. I know there are a couple of others also, but I haven't found them yet to try.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well... I'm not sure how something made from barley could be on anyone's "gluten free" list. Barley contains gluten!

If you want a truly gluten free beer try one of the sorghum ones. Redbridge is the only one I've tried so far and I liked it, especially when it was nice and cold. I know there are a couple of others also, but I haven't found them yet to try.

Is this the one that is made from barley and claims to have the gluten removed? Sounds fishy to me?

Although, I do drink distilled vodka.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you Jason for the warning about Daura. And thanks Monkeylady for the recommendation. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Fruit ciders are another good substitute for beer. I know that Magner's Hard Cider is made from apples and is really good. Pear ciders are very nice, as well. Not all brands are gluten-free, so make sure to research beforehand... however, it seems more are than not.

That's nice to know about the "gluten-free" beer. I shall make sure to avoid it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hard cider (like Magner's), hard liquor, and truly gluten free beer (like RedBridge) is all I need! I can't believe something made with barley is still being toted as gluten free. Talk about a lawsuit waiting to happen!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just wanted to put a plug in for New Grist and Greene's Dark. Both are very tasty. Bards is good too, in fact I have yet to find a gluten-free beer I don't like... something about how they don't upset my stomach like gluten beer... :lol: but I think I'll stay clear of the unfortunately named Daura. ;)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ooooh... I've not seen Greene's Dark, but love New Grist!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Man this is a tough crowd. One person thinks they reacted to a gluten-free product and everyone's ready to dump on it. There's someone out there that thinks they react to gluten-free Corn Chex too. That doesn't stop me from eating it.

I can't wait to try this beer made from Barley. Maybe it actually tastes like real beer, the sourghum beer is awful. If they say they remove the gluten, I'll just have to see for myself.

best regards, lm

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Man this is a tough crowd. One person thinks they reacted to a gluten-free product and everyone's ready to dump on it. There's someone out there that thinks they react to gluten-free Corn Chex too. That doesn't stop me from eating it.

I can't wait to try this beer made from Barley. Maybe it actually tastes like real beer, the sourghum beer is awful. If they say they remove the gluten, I'll just have to see for myself.

best regards, lm

Different folks have different tolerance levels. As always the choice is an individual one. You may tolerate it just fine. Myself I simply prefer not to risk items that are 'processed to be gluten free'. When you do find it I hope it works for you. I agree the sorghum beers are not great that's why I go with ciders or rum and pepsi usually.

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Man this is a tough crowd. One person thinks they reacted to a gluten-free product and everyone's ready to dump on it. There's someone out there that thinks they react to gluten-free Corn Chex too. That doesn't stop me from eating it.

I can't wait to try this beer made from Barley. Maybe it actually tastes like real beer, the sourghum beer is awful. If they say they remove the gluten, I'll just have to see for myself.

best regards, lm

Well for me -- when I look at the ingredients of Corn Chex and see "corn" then I feel much more confident that if I look at beer and it's made from "barley." Since barley contains gluten and corn does not. So I'm not going to feel confident in barley beer. Simple as that.

You do what you feel is best for you. I opt for sorghum beer or cider or wine or a gin and tonic or one of many other options that are available should I want some alcohol, options that are not naturally gluten-containing.

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, they deglutenize it down to 6 ppm (way lower than the EU standards for gluten free) but I imagine other fragments of barley other than the gluten might affect someone allergic to barley.

I tried it last week and was so excited. No problem whatsoever (and I get a little bloated from sorghum beer- I think I have a bit of a sorghum intolerance because it happens from every brand). If I accidentally have wheat I'm in excruciating pain in the fetal position and 6 parts per million didn't affect me that way at all, FWIW. YMMV and all that. :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I had a couple a day for a couple days in a row. It tasted SO good. I hate to report that I had a very bad reaction to it . Makes me so sad.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Man this is a tough crowd. One person thinks they reacted to a gluten-free product and everyone's ready to dump on it. There's someone out there that thinks they react to gluten-free Corn Chex too. That doesn't stop me from eating it.

I can't wait to try this beer made from Barley. Maybe it actually tastes like real beer, the sourghum beer is awful. If they say they remove the gluten, I'll just have to see for myself.

best regards, lm

Did you see for yourself? I tried that. I got wretchedly sick. Definitely glutened by Daura Beer. It's extremely obvious when I am glutened... did you react?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I had a couple a day for a couple days in a row. It tasted SO good. I hate to report that I had a very bad reaction to it . Makes me so sad.

Me, too. I will never, ever touch Daura Beer again. Definitely glutened.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×