splash

Do Gluten-Free Foods Need A Separate Aisle?

Rate this topic

Do GF Foods Need a Separate Aisle?  

18 members have voted

1. 1. Should major grocers segregate gluten free items into a special section of the store?

• Yes, overall it is better to have all gluten free mixes, snacks, and frozen foods in one easy-to-find section.
    • No, in the end it is more trouble to look for gluten free foods in two places.
    • It's a toss up - both methods have advantages.
  2. 2. What are the biggest advantages or disadvantages of a separate gluten free section? (check all that apply)

• Advantage: My non-gluten-free friends and family can quickly locate special items in a special aisle when they shop for me.
    • Advantage: I buy mostly specialty gluten-free items, so with a special aisle I can do much of my shopping in one place.
    • Advantage: I am new to the gluten-free diet, so I'm more likely to discover gluten-free products in a more compact specialty aisle.
    • Advantage: I like to see that my grocer cares about food sensitivities.
    • Disadvantage: Plenty of "regular" foods are now labeled gluten-free, so it is already easy enough to shop in the regular aisles.
    • Disadvantage: I shop for non-gluten-free items as well, and I like to buy similar items all from the same shelf.
    • Disadvantage: It is more difficult to compare prices with other products if they appear in another part of the store.
    • Disadvantage: Sometimes the grocer is unaware that certain foods are gluten-free or doesn't have a particular product, so I still end up searching the other aisles of the store.
    • Disadvantage: I am uncomfortable having to shop in a segregated section of the store.
    • Disadvantage: gluten-free items, just like "low cholesterol," or "dairy free" items, should be accessible so that the general public might consider trying them, which could ensure that my favorite brands stay popular.