Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I just bought a jar of Tout Naturel Organic Peanut Butter. All that's in it is organic peanuts and lecithin. However, I googled lecithin just to make sure it was safe to eat, and I came across a website that said that lecithin could be derived from soy or from wheat, but on another website, it listed lecithin as a "safe" food. Could anyone give me any information regarding whether lecithin is "safe" or not?

If I could find the contact information for Tout Naturel, I would call them and ask them whether it's made from wheat or soy, but unfortunately, I can't find any information. Has anyone tried Tout Naturel Organic Peanut Butter and had any problems?

Also, could you suggest any gluten free peanut butters that you know of?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oops, I accidentally posted this in the wrong section.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I use Safeway's Old Fashioned Peanut Butter. It's ingredient list is thus: Peanuts. That's it. I am also wondering about lecithin, I have simply been avoiding it to save time, but if some is okay then I might put in some effort as maybe there are some chocolate bars that I can eat again. Man I miss chocolate.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I use Safeway's Old Fashioned Peanut Butter. It's ingredient list is thus: Peanuts. That's it. I am also wondering about lecithin, I have simply been avoiding it to save time, but if some is okay then I might put in some effort as maybe there are some chocolate bars that I can eat again. Man I miss chocolate.

Thanks, I'll try and find that brand. I think soy lecithin is ok, unless you have a soy intolerance. I found a topic about soy lecithin posted on this board in my search to see whether lecithin is safe. It would be nice if Tout Naturel listed "soy lecithin" if the lecithin they use is soy derived - it would make my life so much easier.

And I know what you mean about missing chocolate. I don't even know when the last time I ate chocolate was.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Lecithin is usually made from soy, sometimes sunflower oil. If you're in the US and anything is made from wheat, it must list "wheat" on the allergy disclosure.

Scott has Lecithin on the safe list and he's pretty careful researching.

http://www.celiac.com/articles/181/1/Safe-Gluten-Free-Food-List-Safe-Ingredients/Page1.html

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi, xxkristin,

In the US, wheat is a top-eight allergen under federal law (FALCPA) so if the lecithin is from wheat, the word "wheat" must appear on the label. Permitted forms are:

Wheat Lecithin;

Lecithin (Wheat);

or, a "Contains: Wheat" statement adjacent to the ingredients list.

In Canada, regulations designate wheat as a "priority allergen." The labeling rules are the same as the US: the word "wheat" must appear on the label in one of the above forms.

If wheat is not listed on the label, it is reasonable to assume that the source is soy. Soy is also a designated allergen in Canada and the US, so if it is soy lecithin then the word "soy" must appear on the label in a manner similar to that described above for wheat.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks psawyer and Skylark.

I'm in Canada, so that's good to know about them having to put "wheat" on the label - I wasn't sure if that applied in Canada.

However, the frustrating thing is, that the label on the peanut butter only says lecithin - nothing about soy or wheat. I guess I'll just have to return it and buy a different brand.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks, I'll try and find that brand. I think soy lecithin is ok, unless you have a soy intolerance. I found a topic about soy lecithin posted on this board in my search to see whether lecithin is safe. It would be nice if Tout Naturel listed "soy lecithin" if the lecithin they use is soy derived - it would make my life so much easier.

And I know what you mean about missing chocolate. I don't even know when the last time I ate chocolate was.

I can't have soy either :( and from the rest of the comments on here, looks like chocolate remains out until I find a super expensive pure chocolate.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I can't have soy either :( and from the rest of the comments on here, looks like chocolate remains out until I find a super expensive pure chocolate.

As I am diabetic, I don't eat chocolate as a rule. But I understand that there are are some which have neither soy nor barley. Along with soy, watch carefully for malt flavor in chocolate as a sweetener.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When I was soy-free/cow casein-free I made hot cocoa in goat's milk with Hershey's powder. If you're feeling brave, I found this allergen-free fudge recipe on a Google search.

http://www.cybelepascal.com/?p=2206

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×