This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Celiac Disease With Gastritis And Granuloma On Endoscopy

3BoyMama

3BoyMama Newbie

Hi Everyone,

I am a newbie here. I will try to make this as brief as possible! We have been on quite a journey with our 13 year old who has had slowed growth, no weight gain in 2 years and delayed puberty. After ruling out a lot of endocrine issues, our endocrinologist sent us to a GI doctor. The blood test generally done for celiac disease was not valid for our son because they learned he was deficient in IgA. Therefore, although he has absolutely no GI symptoms at all, they felt they should do an endoscopy to rule out Celiac disease as a reason for his growth issues.

When they did the endocopy, they saw stomach inflammation, ulcers and one granuloma. There were also findings in his duodenum. His duodenal bulb biopsy had subtotal villus atrophy, minimal epithelial lymphocyte accumulation, and focally prominent gastric metaplasia. He was h-pylori negative. There was a few other findings of metaplasia in his esophagus as well.

His original pediatric GI doc then thought his most likely diagnosis was Crohn's disease. She wanted to do a colonoscopy, capsule endoscopy (camera pill study) and an upper GI swallow. We decided to take him to the director of the inflammatory bowel disease department at our local children's hospital in Denver. We have friends in Boston with 2 kids with Crohns and their doctor recommended this doctor. He is also a researcher and does a lot of research on Celiac disease.