Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Yeast Extract
0

3 posts in this topic

I have recently discovered that I am allergic to wheat/gluten by process of elimination. I break out all over in an ithcy rash. I am slowly getting a handle on the things I can and can not have. I too wonder about the yeast extact. I recently bought some pretzels that say on the bag that they are gluten free, but they list yeast extract in the ingredients. It's so hard sometimes to get a straight yes or no answer. One place will say yes, it's safe and another will say no, it is made from barley. Am I to assume that since the bag states that it is gluten free that they have taken messures to assure that the yeast extract is also gluten free?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Yeast, and yeast extract, are gluten-free.

There are some questionable ingredients that are sometimes a source of gluten, but if they are in the ingredients list and the package also states "gluten-free" then you don't need to worry.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Previously, some yeast were grown on dried malt extract [not gluten-free] - but it is mostly corn-based these days .. Home brewer still used DME to cultivate their yeasts ...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.