Jump to content



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up

Yeast Extract

Rate this topic


Recommended Posts

I have recently discovered that I am allergic to wheat/gluten by process of elimination. I break out all over in an ithcy rash. I am slowly getting a handle on the things I can and can not have. I too wonder about the yeast extact. I recently bought some pretzels that say on the bag that they are gluten free, but they list yeast extract in the ingredients. It's so hard sometimes to get a straight yes or no answer. One place will say yes, it's safe and another will say no, it is made from barley. Am I to assume that since the bag states that it is gluten free that they have taken messures to assure that the yeast extract is also gluten free?

Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Yeast, and yeast extract, are gluten-free.

There are some questionable ingredients that are sometimes a source of gluten, but if they are in the ingredients list and the package also states "gluten-free" then you don't need to worry.

Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 5 years later...

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




×
×
  • Create New...