ema2013

Biopsy Pathology Report--No Marsh Level

Rate this topic

I have my pathology report, and there is no mention of Marsh level.  Is this normal?  It does say, under final diagnosis, "severe mucosal lesion, consistent with celiac disease".  I thought all reports had to list the Marsh level.  There is a microscopic description on it though.  I'm new to celiac disease and am trying to figure this stuff out.  My GI was no help at all, other than to say "quit eating gluten".  Thanks for listening.

Hi there!

No, Marsh Scale is rarely mentioned until the biopsies are level Marsh III.  This is because the first two stages can be attributed to things other than Celiac Disease.

Does this report mention "lymphcytes", "villi" or "crypts".  Sadly, there are many variations offered by pathology labs which can make it tough to understand their meaning.

I don't know your history, but if you have positive blood work, deficient nutrients, familial history of celiac or symptoms associated with celiac it is indeed time to remove all gluten from your world now that your biopsy is complete.

Good luck and let us know if you have more questions :)

Hi there!

No, Marsh Scale is rarely mentioned until the biopsies are level Marsh III.  This is because the first two stages can be attributed to things other than Celiac Disease.

Does this report mention "lymphcytes", "villi" or "crypts".  Sadly, there are many variations offered by pathology labs which can make it tough to understand their meaning.

I don't know your history, but if you have positive blood work, deficient nutrients, familial history of celiac or symptoms associated with celiac it is indeed time to remove all gluten from your world now that your biopsy is complete.

Good luck and let us know if you have more questions :)