Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

jensign43

18 Month Old Daughter's Celiac Panel

Rate this topic

Hi! We are in the process of trying to get a proper diagnosis for our 18 month old. Her is her first celiac panel results:

Deamidated Gliadin Abs, Iga 1 0-19 units

Deamidated Gliadin Abs, Igg 3 0-19 units

T-Transglutaminase (Ttg) Iga <2 0-3

T-Transglutaminase (Ttg) Igg 6 0-5 U/mL

Endomysial Antibody Iga Negative Negative

Immunoglobulin A, Qn, Serum 19 20-101 mg/dL

Any thoughts?

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Looks like your daughter is IGA deficient thus making the IGA tests (TTG and DGP IGA) invalid (common in those with celiac disease). You did get one positive. I am not a doctor, but I am one of the wacky ones who only had a positive on the DGP IGA and the rest were negative yet I had a Marsh Stage IIIB biopsy.

Babies are tough to diagnose. Let's hope another parent can provide some input. But I would say that you can not rule out celiac disease. Keep her on gluten until all testing is complete.

What are her symptoms?

Non-functioning Gall bladder Removal Surgery 2005

Diagnosed via Blood Test and Endoscopy: March 2013

Hashimoto's Thyroiditis -- Stable 2014

Anemia -- Resolved

Fractures (vertebrae): June 2013

Osteopenia/osteoporosis -- June 2013

Allergies and Food Intolerances

Diabetes -- January 2014

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

Join eNewsletter

She's irritable, avoiding gluten-heavy foods, diarrhea & constipation. She also has an awful distended belly, it looks like you could pop it like a balloon. :( She's only gained one pound in the past year and she's actually lost weight between her last two check ups. She's actually fell under 0% for her weight now.

Join eNewsletter

Wow! I am not a doctor, but that sounds like celiac disease. What does your doctor say?

Anyone else in your family with celiac disease or have symptoms that could be celiac disease?