This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Dapsone timing

accio.retro

accio.retro Newbie

Hello! Newbie here. I have recently been diagnosed with DH. The biopsy was inconclusive, but I have been gluten free for 3 months so that could play into it. She diagnosed me on presentation and started dapsone a week ago, 25mg twice a day. Initially, I noticed a huge improvement in my itching. Then Monday morning (Day 6) and this morning (Day 8  ) I woke up at 3:00am with horrible itchiness and burning. Both nights previous I took my evening Dapsone at 6pm. Do you think it’s possible that the medicine is just getting out of my system? Has anyone experienced issues with when you take the Dapsone? 

I am super discouraged and have been checking every little thing I’ve been eating to make sure I’m not getting glutened. 

Thanks for your help!

Edited by accio.retro

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

cyclinglady Grand Master

I confess that I do not have DH, but I have read the DH section of the forum which you might find helpful too.

Know that the antibodies can take forever to exit the skin.  The rash can flare for no specific reason (or easily traced reason).  DH sufferers seem to be super sensitive.  Even to tiny trace amounts that might be fine for the average celiac.  Consider avoiding even certified gluten-free processed foods or grains for a while.  Check out the AIP diet (Autoimmune Paleo) or Dr. Fasano diet (celiac researcher).  Temporarily reduce iodine in your diet (e.g. fish, etc).  This can make the DH rash worse.