• Join Our Community!

Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

IronedOut

Blue Cheese - Yes Or No

Rate this topic

I've seen blue cheese listed in several places as a no-no and was wondering why? I'm guessing that some grain product is used to make the 'blue' in the cheese?

Adding to my confusion is the list of safe meals my friends brought back from a restaurant called The Macaroni Grill. On it was their blue cheese salad.

I'm no cheese expert but, as I understand it the mold in Blue Cheese is started from bread. I don't know the details about how much (if any) gluten gets transfered over in the making/aging process.

I think this is one of those personal decisions.....How sensitive are you type things.

Best of Luck,

Cleveland Bob B)

Blue cheese is allowed by the Canadian Celiac Association. I eat it, but not very often. Sharp cheese is a special treat for me :) However, I understand that it is not considered ok in the USA. I'm not sure if it is just a different philosophy, or if it is actually cultured differently between the countries. This sort of stuff is confusing, I agree! Though I admit I am a bad-ass and if I can find it on a "safe list" from a reputable source, I'm likely to eat it.

The culture or mold for blue cheese is sometimes started on bread but more often these days is started on an artificial medium. So if you know a blue cheese wasn't started on bread, you know for certain it's gluten-free.

Even if it is started on bread, no one really seems to know whether any of the gluten actually carries over to the culture. And even if it does carry over, the amount used in a huge vat would mean that even if the culture were 100 percent gluten (which it wouldn't be), the gluten in the cheese would be maybe a couple of parts per million.

This is strictly a personal choice, but I don't even worry about blue cheese any more. IMO, eating out anywhere or cooking in a mixed kitchen at home carries more risk of gluten.

richard