Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Recommended Posts

More importantly than the box stating gluten free, does anyone know if they process wheat cereals in the same facility where they process gluten free Trix? If so I would not touch it.

I personally would call the company before you eat it to make sure they have dedicated lines.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

More importantly than the box stating gluten free, does anyone know if they process wheat cereals in the same facility where they process gluten free Trix? If so I would not touch it.

I personally would call the company before you eat it to make sure they have dedicated lines.

I was thinking the same thing myself. I'd love to eat mainstream cereal again (and so would my son) but would I dare eat gluten-free Trix if it's processed on the same lines as regular Trix? Am I being too rigid and unnecessarily overly cautious thinking like this?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

There is no regular trix any more. They changed the formulation. If you eat fruity or cocca pebbles it is the same risk as those. My daughter and I tried the Trix today and did not get sick. We both usually react quite easily.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Even if there is no Trix with gluten anymore, though, does that plant process wheat baring cereals? If so, Trix might be produced on the same lines as cereals with wheat. Some people would not chance that.

I'm sure whomever makes Trix makes a bunch of other cereals as well.

Of course your risk is the same with Fruity Pebbles.

Unless the company uses a dedicated line...that's why I say if you're concerned you should call.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Even if there is no Trix with gluten anymore, though, does that plant process wheat baring cereals? If so, Trix might be produced on the same lines as cereals with wheat. Some people would not chance that.

I'm sure whomever makes Trix makes a bunch of other cereals as well.

Of course your risk is the same with Fruity Pebbles.

Unless the company uses a dedicated line...that's why I say if you're concerned you should call.

I called about the Trix (since I really did find a box with out Wheat Starch) and they say that the line is washed down everyday and that they don't mix cereal types (meaning that they dedicate 1 day to Trix only) but if you are suspicious about how well they wash down the line...that's another thing all together.

I am going to eat it for a few days and if I don't get sick I will let the girls try some.


Gluten free since 5/06

mommy to Annika(3) gluten free since 5/04 and Kathryn (5) gluten free since 10/05

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Mine was a "gluten-free" box and I got sick. I def. think that it was from cross contamination. I am extremely sensitive to gluten. I would love to eat main stream cereal but it is to much of a risk for me to take.

Anyway my little brother was happy when I handed him the box of brand new trix that I tryed. :P

Amanda NY

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Yeah, I will stay away from it myself. I don't eat things that aren't processed in a gluten free facility. I always end up with a tummy ache. That's why I quit eating Fruity Pebbles even though they are so good! I don't trust their processing. There's just too much risk of cross contamination for me:( I do miss cereal, though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Are you sure you seen gluten-free Trix? I just looked today at boxes dated 30-DEC-2006 and they all listed "flour" in the first few ingredients.

I saw them. It might have said corn flour (which I was told was okay) but yesterday at the store I only saw the gluten kind, I think the gluten free boxes are few and far between until the old ones are gone.

Yeah it says CORN ( whole grain corn, flour, meal)

I called the company and they said the ones that say WHEAT STARCH are not gluten free (duh :rolleyes: ) but the ones without it are.

I haven't gotten sick yet.....


Gluten free since 5/06

mommy to Annika(3) gluten free since 5/04 and Kathryn (5) gluten free since 10/05

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Yeah it says CORN ( whole grain corn, flour, meal)

OH, when I saw flour in that line I put it far way and moved on LOL. Just a Gluten induced reflex. :) Sorry, guess we have them to then since thats what all the boxes say! (yes I checked them all LOL )


- Vincent -

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Yeah, I will stay away from it myself. I don't eat things that aren't processed in a gluten free facility. I always end up with a tummy ache. That's why I quit eating Fruity Pebbles even though they are so good! I don't trust their processing. There's just too much risk of cross contamination for me:( I do miss cereal, though.

I miss them so much I have not had them in about two years.....I dream about them :D

I haven't gotten sick yet.....

Your so lucky :P

I wish that I did not get sick <_<

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter



Join eNewsletter