This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Bread

momothree

momothree Apprentice

Okay, so we have been on the gluten-free diet for all of 3 days, and it already feels like forever. The dinners are fairly easy to manage, but there is a gap where bread and crackers used to be. Perhaps someone can offer up some brand names or a bread machine recipe that tastes close to the real thing?? I'm new to this, so perhaps there is no such thing. All I know is that I have purchased a few bread items and crackers (gag) and baked a couple of things (biscuits etc.), and they are tough to choke down. Will we get used to it??? I should mention that I am in Canada, so I may not be able to access some of the brands available in the US. There was a reply to one of my other posts from Cassidy that said they were basically not eating bread and not missing it. Is this what a lot of people end up doing? All I know is that with 3 kids and a dog, sometimes all I have time to do is throw together a grilled cheese sandwich for one of my starving kids :lol: Any other hints or tips anyone has to offer for time saving (sanity saving) techniques would definitely be welcome. Thanks!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Mango04 Enthusiast

You might want to try Kinnikinick and Glutino. The Glutino cinnamon raison bread is pretty good. Make sure all gluten-free bread is toasted before you eat it.

You might also want to try Cause Your Special mixes. I've found them all to be pretty good.