Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

MistressIsis

Outback

Recommended Posts

hate to break it to ya, but L&P in US is NOT gluten-free, 1 of the main ingredients is Malt Vinegar.

You know, there are different kinds of malt, including rice malt. Just as there are different types of gluten, like corn gluten, or rice gluten.

Depending on where you live you might want to call your local L&P office and ask them what kind of Malt is in their sauce. My L&P does not say Malt in the ingredient list.

I noticed that someone mentioned in Canada, they have different ingredients. Are you in Canada?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"I had been warned against Annato, the orange coloring sometimes having gluten and to only eat white cheeses."

You have been warned wrongly. Annatto is without exception gluten-free. Yellow cheeses, as far as I've been able to tell over 5 years, are gluten-free without exception. The annatto thing is an old celiac urban legend.

richard

"Turns out there are anchovies in their ceaser..."

So sorry you are anchovy intolerant or allergic, but anchovies are a very important part of a Caesar salad. More important than the croutons that give it crunch. Without anchovies, I'm not sure how you could even call it a Caesar salad.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

off to the restaurant kitchen with my exec chef...now I'm confused!!

I JUST read the L&P in Massachusetts!

I think I get more aggravated with the constant stream of contridictory info than anythng else

Wasn't someone gonna write a booklet???

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
off to the restaurant kitchen with my exec chef...now I'm confused!!

I JUST read the L&P in Massachusetts!

Firstly: In the US, Lea & Perrins is gluten-free. It is not gluten-free in Canada. Is there any chance your supplier would use Canadian products?

Secondly (and this is to everybody): Please do not make sweeping statements based on one experience, without any research, or based on rumor. My advice here is lurk and learn.

If you have a problem at a restaurant you eat at, talk to the manager. Actually, talk to the manager anyway, make sure he/she is alerted to your presence. They may not know they are doing something wrong and it needs to be brought to their attention if you get sick (in a nice, non-threatening way). If you have any doubts about your experience, call corporate, they are very concerned with their customers.

I've called Outback corporate myself and verified that they are indeed keeping the gluten-free menu, and are continually updating it. They work very closely with the Gluten-Intolerance Group to develop their gluten-free menu, and they update it every single time the main menu is updated. They also take it VERY seriously. Each restaurant should have this updated information, but as a safety guard, print of the menu from their website and take it in with you.

I'm sorry if I'm abrasive, but there have been multiple Outback rumors and we don't need any more. This is one company that really strives to work with celiacs.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Almost all Cesar dressings have anchovies in them. It is what gives Cesar dressing that "bite". Some companies do sell "anchovy-less dressings in the store, but any decent restaurant would not make the dressing without those little fishies -- otherwise, it would be a pretty dull salad.

Thanks Richard and Broncobux! I had no idea that anchovies were the "it" in Ceaser. Yuck! I would have never eaten it in the first place! But I also didn't know that it was the ceaser that was making me sick until I kept going back and ordering the same salad with Ranch instead of Ceaser. In my opinion, it pays to work through these things, instead of just writing a place off, and never going back! See! I learned a lesson! Stupid little fishies....

Firstly: In the US, Lea & Perrins is gluten-free. It is not gluten-free in Canada. Is there any chance your supplier would use Canadian products?

Secondly (and this is to everybody): Please do not make sweeping statements based on one experience, without any research, or based on rumor. My advice here is lurk and learn.

If you have a problem at a restaurant you eat at, talk to the manager. Actually, talk to the manager anyway, make sure he/she is alerted to your presence. They may not know they are doing something wrong and it needs to be brought to their attention if you get sick (in a nice, non-threatening way). If you have any doubts about your experience, call corporate, they are very concerned with their customers.

I've called Outback corporate myself and verified that they are indeed keeping the gluten-free menu, and are continually updating it. They work very closely with the Gluten-Intolerance Group to develop their gluten-free menu, and they update it every single time the main menu is updated. They also take it VERY seriously. Each restaurant should have this updated information, but as a safety guard, print of the menu from their website and take it in with you.

I'm sorry if I'm abrasive, but there have been multiple Outback rumors and we don't need any more. This is one company that really strives to work with celiacs.

I totally agree, and in addition, if I have made sweeping statements, I do apologize! I am still learning too, and though I think I have it "down" after a year, I still make mistakes, as I am sure we all do. I think your best advice is to ask questions and follow up with corporate offices/managers! That has really helped me!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1st of all, I didn't mean to inflame anyone. This was not meant as a sweeping statement. I had done all the research & walked in with the info, etc. To be asked if I was sure I was ill and then having a manager & an owner essentially refuse to share ingredients was, well annoying.

I also tried at least 3 different locations across MA.

I'm from a restaurant family, worked 1/2 my life in restaurants, I wouldn't just assume anything!

I'm wondering if maybe their supplier in MA got non-USA products. It does happen...I've seen it 1st hand

ok here's where I'm apparently confused...I've gotten different lists from different places & it seems to be very contradictory.

i.e I was told i could have Vanilla but not vanilliaN, to avoid modified food starch, MSG (wheat startch), maltodextrin...is all that wrong??

to think I've been avoiding things I CAN have is even more frustrating!

Again, my apologies, I had no intention of irking anyone.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest nini

the lists of what is safe and what is not are constantly changing and should only be used as guidelines. It is up to the individual to verify that certain products are safe for them. I've yet to find a vanilla or vanillan that are not safe, sure there may be some out there but I haven't found them. Annato used to be thought of as something to avoid as was vinegar, now we know that most distilled vinegars and annato are actually safe. (of course some of us more sensitive types may still react to things that are artificial not neccessarily a gluten issue).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"i.e I was told i could have Vanilla but not vanilliaN, to avoid modified food starch, MSG (wheat startch), maltodextrin...is all that wrong?? "

Never have found vanilla or vanillan with gluten. MSG in the U.S. is gluten-free. If maltodextrin is made from wheat, which it rarely is, it must be clearly marked in the U.S. MFS still can be made from wheat, although it rarely is, but labeling laws require it to be marked.

BTW, malt and malt flavor CAN be made from a grain other than barley. It rarely is, but at least twice I've run across malt made from malted corn. gluten-free beers use malted sorghum or rice.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Again, my apologies, I had no intention of irking anyone.

You didn't irk me, what I said actually had little or nothing to do with you. I was a general statement and directed at no one in particular. I didn't even mean to seem irked, but many times people write things off based on incorrect information or one bad manager. People also may not realize that they have other problems with foods unrelated to gluten. It's a big learning curve that we're all on :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks Penguin, I feel better now! :)

hmm, well then I must just have an issue with MSG on it's own and that's fine.

I did buy some Cocoa Pebbles & a Snickers bar after I read some of the posts here...can I tellyou how excited I am to eat a mainstream cereal??? Of course because I'm nervous I'll try them at home!

The other thing I was told to avoid was Artificial Flavoring

Just when I think I've got it down something else pops up!

I wonder how many restaurant suppliers get stuff from out of country & then sell it to restaurants here.

Either that or it's old product they're still using up.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The other thing I was told to avoid was Artificial Flavoring

Articifial and natural flavoring is basically an unknown quantity. If you read the definition of it on something like www.wikipedia.com, it basically can be anything.

If its companies like Kraft, and it says artificial and natural flavoring, but doesn't mention wheat or anything else bad. Then it is safe.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Because of the 2006 Food Labeling Law, ANY source (whether it be modified food starch, natural/artificial flavorings, etc) that is derived from wheat MUST be labeled. Now, that doesn't cover other gluten products (but, I *think* wheat would be the most common in these ingredients, IN GENERAL).

Thank you to Penguin and Richard for helping clear up the many myths that are out there. This is frustrating when the medical professionals and others pass out misleading information to Celiacs! Also, the lists on Celiac.com are GREAT....if you have any questions, please ask!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I had a similar experience with the Outback near my house. I gave the waitress my gluten-free dining out card and ordered from the celiac menu and made sure to specify that my food be cooked and prepared in clean dishes, etc...I ordered a steak and potatoe with veg. When I got the dinner salad it had orange shredded cheese on it. I had been warned against Annato, the orange coloring sometimes having gluten and to only eat white cheeses. So I sent the salad back. After it returned, I took one bite and felt the sinking reaction in my abdomen. I only ate one or two more bites of the salad and proceeded to feel lousy. I was also on a date, mind you. So I tried to stick it out and finish my meal. That night I felt really angry and upset. I think the main reason was not that I got sick, but that I took all precautions and ate at outback just because of the menu, and I still got sick. I have had more success with small, family owned restaurants where the chef actually knows the ingredients. The only chain that I will go to is Legal Seafood. Sorry for your experience, and I want to caution others that Outback can indeed be a problem.

Taylor

THE SEASONED VEGGIES ARE NOT GLUTEN FREE. Too bad you didn't notice that beforehand

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites