Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Helena

Is Oatstraw Okay?

Recommended Posts

I thought I was doing really well at avoiding gluten . . . and suddenly while going to sleep last night I realized that the herbal tea I drank that day contained oatstraw. Does oatstraw contain gluten? (I'm not sure if I can tolerate oats. I was planning on being gluten free for a good long time before trying gluten-free oats)


positive tTG and antigliadin blood tests for celiac (summer 2006)

positive dietary response

environmental and food allergies.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


i googled it out of curiousity and came up with conflicting results. i would assume that it isn't, for the reason of oats being cross-contaminted in general. i wouldn't risk it - but i would also call the company if you can't part with your tea.


Gluten-free, Vegan

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks---I decided to get rid of the tea. I woke up the next day not feeling that good . . . seasonal allergies were noticably worse and I felt kind of foggy and my stomach was off (D). But I'm not sure that it was the oatstraw----I noticed before that I reacted to that tea (and stayed away from it for awhile). I figured that it might be another ingredient--I react to legumes, and red clover is a legume. Last night I also ate a few canned mandarin oranges that made my throat itchy (I'm thinking the "sugar" used to preserve it was corn-based. I'm allergic to corn). And I also tried xanthan gum . . . which might not be okay because of the corn allergy. So who knows if it was the oatstraw or not.

I guess I was hoping it wasn't the oatstraw . . . because that would probably mean I won't be able to tolerate gluten free oats. (I bought the tea from a craft show---the oatstraw is grown on a family farm . . . I'm pretty sure they just grow herbs there so I doubt that there would be wheat.)


positive tTG and antigliadin blood tests for celiac (summer 2006)

positive dietary response

environmental and food allergies.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't eat the gluten-free oats, but I'm glad you ditched it. I find that quinoa flakes work well as an alternative, and the 'rule of thumb' is to introduce the oats slowly, after a while. I'm sure in time you can! Right now, feel better :)


Gluten-free, Vegan

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks! I hope I can have oats too . . .but not a good idea right now as you say. Quinoa, unfortunately, is out for me :( I tend to have problems with seeds (allergies).


positive tTG and antigliadin blood tests for celiac (summer 2006)

positive dietary response

environmental and food allergies.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I stay away from oats..some people react to the protein in even pure oats. The protein called avenin is similar is structure to the protein in wheat and things we can't have. Anyhow, I am not ready to risk being sick for a long period of time. I would say you should probably avoid the oatstraw


Kaiti

Positive bloodwork

Gluten-free since January 2004

Arkansas

Jeremiah 29:11- "For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for you to prosper and not harm you,plans to give you a hope and future"

"One Nation, Under God"

Feel free to email me anytime....jkbrodbent@yahoo.com

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites