Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Recommended Posts

I am confused by malt. Sometimes it is listed on ingredients in something processed, but at the end of the list, it says "may contain traces of wheat". I thought malt was from wheat. I found out that malt really bothers me.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Malt is nearly always from barley. Barley is a gluten-containing grain. Companies are NOT required to include barley on the "potential allergens" list at the end of the ingredients, which is ridiculous.

I have seen "rice malt" listed occasionally, but don't know anything about that. Anybody heard of it?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Any grain can be malted. Malt is almost always made from barley so you have to assume it is. But if it's made from rice or corn or sorghum (as in gluten-free beer) etc., it's gluten-free.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...