Jump to content



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up

What Is Casein?


Recommended Posts


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Casein is a milk protein, found in dairy products. Even products which have no lactose (milk sugar) frequently contain casein.

Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Link to post
Share on other sites

That's right, anything with dairy contains casein, and many "non-dairy" products also contain casein. You have to read the labels. Sodium caseinate (or any caseinate) is a derivative of casein. Whey is another milk protein, but it contains casein in it as well. So if you need to avoid casein, then you basically have to avoid all dairy products and any other food that contains any form of dairy.

God bless,

Mariann

~West Coast-Central California~

Mariann, gluten intolerant and mother of 3 gluten intolerant children

Link to post
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




×
×
  • Create New...