Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
Mrs. N

Multiple Food Issues Suck!

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

The only thing I've had different tonight is Lea and Perrins Worcestershire Sauce. I have had everything else that we ate today before without a problem. I ate supper and a little while later started feeling that familiar beginning-of-a-long-night sensation in my stomach. I hate when that happens!!

Does anyone know if the "natural flavors" listed contain, or may have come into contact with, chicken, turkey, eggs, dairy, soy, canola or rapeseed oils, or gluten?

Thanks in advance,

Esther

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Lea and Perrins Worcestershire Sauce is gluten-free in the United States. The label has a tan background with maroon letters, and says gluten-free on the back.

The version sold in Canada has an orange label with black lettering, and is *not* gluten-free. The first ingredient in the Canadian version is malt vinegar.

You are in Michigan, so I would assume that you bought it there, and that it is gluten-free. There is no chicken, turkey, eggs or dairy in either one. In the US, eggs and dairy would have to be declared on the label under the FALCPA law. Oils will not be hidden in flavorings.

The ingredient list on the US bottle (we are in Canada, but have a source in the US) is:

Vinegar, Molasses, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Anchovies, Water, Onions, Garlic, Tamarind Concentrate, Cloves, Natural Flavorings, Chili Pepper Extract.

None of those ingredients intersect with your listed concerns, but cross-contact can not be ruled out.

As I said, we have a supply of US Lea and Perrins Worcestershire Sauce, and use it frequently. I have not had any reaction to it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is gluten-free, or at least it is labeled as such, but I, too, react to it. Soy should have to be declared on the label, but it is the only intolerance you and I seem to have in common besides gluten. I e-mailed them to verify. If I learn anything different, I will post again.

Michelle

Western Washington State

Family is: gluten, corn, dairy, soy, MSG and beef-free

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks, both of you, for taking the time to respond.

Michelle, shortly after I posted, I found this website - http://www.chkd.org/HealthLibrary/Facts/Co...spx?pageid=0364 - that says this in its condiments & misc. to avoid section: Heinz Worcestershire sauce, Lea & Perrins sauce, fermented soybean pastes (miso and natto).

I, too, sent a message to Lea and Perrins, and I'll post what they tell me.

Thanks again!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Okay, this is what I got from Heinz a few minutes ago:

November 16, 2009

Dear Esther,

Because we understand how difficult it is for consumers with food allergies to find 'safe' processed foods, we clearly list the FDA Top 8 Major Allergens on our ingredient panels if they are included in our products.

The FDA specifies the Top 8 Major Allergens are as follows: Soy; Wheat; Peanuts; Eggs; Dairy; Tree Nuts; Shellfish & Crustaceans; and Fish.

Currently, these ingredients are listed specifically within our ingredient statements. They are also called out in bold print underneath the ingredient statement. Older packaging will only reflect these allergens within the ingredient statement itself (rather than reiterating the information in bold print).

Because recipes are not patentable, the terms 'natural flavorings' and 'spices' refers to dried spices which are not disclosed on the label for proprietary reasons. Unfortunately, if you are allergic to an ingredient other than those specifically declared, we are not able to disclose whether your ingredient is being used in the recipe, and therefore suggest that you avoid using this product.

However, if you would like to have your physician fax us a request on their letterhead with a contact phone number detailing the specific ingredient(s) in question. They can fax that request to: (412) 237-5291.

Thank you for your interest in Heinz products.

Heinz Consumer Resource Center

Heinzconsumeraffairs@us.hjheinz.com

When I first went gluten-free, I contacted another company and gave them my list of foods to avoid and they willingly looked at their list and told me whether those things were in there. Apparently Heinz does not do business like that. Too bad for them!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Thanks, both of you, for taking the time to respond.

Michelle, shortly after I posted, I found this website - http://www.chkd.org/HealthLibrary/Facts/Co...spx?pageid=0364 - that says this in its condiments & misc. to avoid section: Heinz Worcestershire sauce, Lea & Perrins sauce, fermented soybean pastes (miso and natto).

I, too, sent a message to Lea and Perrins, and I'll post what they tell me.

Thanks again!

I contacted them a couple months ago regarding the soy and they told me no soy in the original Lea and Perrins.

Vinegar, Molasses, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Anchovies, Water, Onions, Garlic, Tamarind Concentrate, Cloves, Natural Flavorings, Chili Pepper Extract.

Always be on the look out for ingredients to change but right now no soy or gluten.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for your reply, Kathy. Heinz verified that, too.

November 20, 2009

Dear Esther,

Thank you for visiting our web site.

If the eight major allergens are in the natural flavorings and spices, they would be listed as an allergen.

Thanks again for contacting us. We appreciate your interest.

Heinz Consumer Resource Center

Heinzconsumeraffairs@us.hjheinz.com

Still, I can't eat the stuff. :-\

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×