Maryfrances

Knock, Knock... A Newbie Here

Rate this topic

Hello!

My name is Maryfrances and I have just been diagnosed with CS. I have to say, I am extremely overwhelmed. Basically, after I had my biopsy results read, my Gastro told me I have CS, handed me a bunch of brochures, told me to research online, join a message board (HI!), and read all I can and sent me on my merry way. Needless to say, I'm not fond of this doc.

I'm reading so much that I am confusing myself. I have so many questions! Do I really need to use separate pots and pans!? sheesh!

Seriously, if you all have any advice for a newbie Celiac, I'd sure appreciate it!

I will spend a great deal of time just reading the posts here, as I'm sure a lot of my questions will be answered here.

Just a bit about me:

I was born in DC, raised in Silver Spring, MD, now living in Columbia, MD. Blissfully wed for almost 19 years and mom to two great teenage boys.

I love to draw, do beadwork and read in my spare time.

I look forward to meeting you all! Seeing as how this is a LIFE-LONG disease, I guess I'm here to stay!

Thanks in advance,

Maryfrances ;)

Hello Maryfrances,

I have always loved that name! Welcome to our group. I think you will find that being gluten free is not so much a disease as a serious shove in the direction of heathly living. A diet you can not cheat on!

I didn't buy new pots and pans. I have three teens in the house. Two of them are gluten free. So most of the groceries here are gluten free. Feeding teens is expensive so we eat a lot of taco salads with gluten free corn chips and things like that.

Here's a recipe that my kids loved.....

Salsa Meatloaf

2 lbs ground beef

1 cup salsa

1 1/2 cups potato flakes

2 eggs

2 t. salt

2 t. thyme

1 t. pepper

Bake at 375 for 30 mins - top with 1/3 cup salsa and bake for another 10 min

Take care, RA