This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Anxiety Meds

jknnej

jknnej Collaborator

Hi guys,

My dr. wants to put me on anxiety meds for generalized anxiety disorder.

He says he likes Effexor best b/c it's not as altering or however you describe it, as some of the other meds.

Has anyone here taken Effexor and if so, did it have a postive effect?

What other meds do you take?

I have Xanax but my dr. says that is a "quick fix" and doesn't help like Effexor will? I have no knowledge on this matter, so I'm just saying what my dr. told me...

Also, I'm a bit confused. I've spoken with SEVERAL dr.'s and nurses who say Xanax and Zoloft are scary meds. If so, why would Effexor be any less scary? I am a little lost here. One of my best friends is a nurse who said do NOT take Zoloft or Xanax, they are bad. My mom, however, takes Zoloft, and likes it. I tried to start it awhile ago but it made me too nauseated. Xanax I can take when I'm in a pinch.

Any thoughts on these conflicting views on anti-depressants? I'm lost as to why Zoloft and Xanax are "bad" drugs to some dr's, but this Effexor is OK???? I definitely don't want any habit forming drugs, but I know Effexor is one that you can't just "stop" taking; you have to be weaned off of it.

Please help..any thoughts would be appreciated,

Jennifer

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Emme999 Enthusiast

Jennifer,