Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Sarah B

Xanthum Gum In The Ingredients?

Recommended Posts


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Xanthan gum itself is gluten-free, but be sure to check the rest of the ingredients on the label. :) I believe it's used as a thickener of sorts, often in place of wheat.


Docs said it was depression, which was in my case code for, "It's all in your head."

I replied (in my head, alas) with expletives that I don't think are allowed on here. xD

Self-dx'd Celiac just beginning my very bumpy gluten-free journey. My healing process is looking a lot like my deterioration was (rather non-linear)...

Praise be unto the (gluten-free, vegan) Flying Spaghetti Monster for the folks who worked so hard to raise awareness (and Internet to access it)! Y'all saved me decades of suffering most likely. :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Xanthum gum is often used as a binder for nonwheat flours to stop them from crumbling. However its presence says nothing about the gluten free status of a given product.


Neroli

"Everything that can be counted does not necessarily count; everything that counts cannot necessarily be counted." - Albert Einstein

"Life is not weathering the storm; it is learning to dance in the rain"

"Whatever the question, the answer is always chocolate." Nigella Lawson

------------

Caffeine free 1973

Lactose free 1990

(Mis)diagnosed IBS, fibromyalgia '80's and '90's

Diagnosed psoriatic arthritis 2004

Self-diagnosed gluten intolerant, gluten-free Nov. 2007

Soy free March 2008

Nightshade free Feb 2009

Citric acid free June 2009

Potato starch free July 2009

(Totally) corn free Nov. 2009

Legume free March 2010

Now tolerant of lactose

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If all the other ingredients look ok but the Natural flavors and there is Xanthum gum in it is it usually gluten free?

Xanthan Gum itself is gluten free. Natural flavors may not be. What product are you looking for information on? If you post asking about a specific product people here may be able to answer better the gluten free status.

Here is a link to a list of unsafe ingredients: https://www.celiac.com/articles.html/forbidden-gluten-food-list-unsafe-ingredients-r182/

From that link:

"According to 21 C.F.R. S 101,22(a)(3): [t]he terns natural flavor or natural flavoring means the essential oil, oleoresin, essence or extractive, protein hydrolysate, distillate, or any product of roasting, heating or enzymolysis, which contains the flavoring constituents derived from a spice, fruit or fruit juice, vegetable or vegetable juice, edible yeast, herb, bark, bud, root, leaf or similar plant material, meat, seafood, poultry, eggs, dairy products, or fermentation products thereof. Whose significant function in food is flavoring rather than nutritional. "


A simple meal with love is better than a feast where there is hatred. Proverbs 15:17 (CEV)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites