Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

xxkristin

Diagnosed Yesterday

Recommended Posts

I was just diagnosed with celiac disease yesterday, although I've been thinking that I've had it for about a year now. I was tested last August and it came back negative, but I decided to get tested again last week and this time it came back positive.

Can anyone tell me any common foods that contain gluten that aren't really obvious, like pasta and bread?

Also, if there are any tips that you can give me that might make this transition easier, it would be really appreciated. Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Hi kristin.

Can anyone tell me any common foods that contain gluten that aren't really obvious, like pasta and bread?

Canned soups- in the US I believe Campbells has gluten in all their soups. Progresso has some gluten-free soups, read the labels.

Potato chips, snack chips- many of the flavored ones have gluten. There are some brands that are gluten-free

Kettle brand has some gluten-free flavors.

Cereal- Rice Krispie's, not safe, barley malt in them. Chex has many gluten-free flavors.

I will try to think of more.


Started on this journey w/ my 9 yr old son after a bout w/ the flu in the fall of 2009.

2 neg celiac blood tests, mine was also neg. No endo done. Son had x-ray, showing severe constipation. Son has latex allergy. KP for both of us.

Long family history of bowel problems, auto-immune and all sorts of cancers. My G-mother informed me that she was put on a gluten free diet after she had my mom (1950's), of course she stopped when she felt better. She has had problems ever since I can remember.

So here we are! I do have my son's Dr to thank for even bringing up celiac! Thank You Dr.B!

My adult daughter also has been helped by eating gluten-free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Apart from the obvious things, items to check include all candies, chocolate, sauces, marinades, salad dressings, ice cream, soups (practically anything processed, actually, since they sneak gluten into so many things - one of the reasons it is recommended to start with a whole foods only diet, to lessen the chore of label reading.) Many broths contain gluten, you have to be careful of anything other than fresh meat; e.g., rotisserie chicken can have a gluten broth injected). You will need to buy a gluten free soy sauce (Tamari or La Choy),. It sounds daunting at first but if you don't overload yourself on processed stuff at first you will soon get the hang of it. There are plenty of gluten free pastas and breads/mixes, cookies. Spread your wings slowly would be my advice.


Neroli

"Everything that can be counted does not necessarily count; everything that counts cannot necessarily be counted." - Albert Einstein

"Life is not weathering the storm; it is learning to dance in the rain"

"Whatever the question, the answer is always chocolate." Nigella Lawson

------------

Caffeine free 1973

Lactose free 1990

(Mis)diagnosed IBS, fibromyalgia '80's and '90's

Diagnosed psoriatic arthritis 2004

Self-diagnosed gluten intolerant, gluten-free Nov. 2007

Soy free March 2008

Nightshade free Feb 2009

Citric acid free June 2009

Potato starch free July 2009

(Totally) corn free Nov. 2009

Legume free March 2010

Now tolerant of lactose

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks a lot everyone. I've been eating a lot of gluten free foods that are labeled as such since I found out that I might be celiac, just to try to reduce the amount of gluten I was eating just in case I was celiac. I found a lot of gluten free granola, crackers, hummus, cereal, pasta, etc. I didn't know, however, that soup might contain gluten; good to know. Does anyone know if you can still eat sushi when you're celiac? It's one of my favorite foods and it would really suck to have to give it up.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does anyone know if you can still eat sushi when you're celiac? It's one of my favorite foods and it would really suck to have to give it up.

If you're buying from a store, just look at the label. I think you just have to watch out for the soy sauce, it may contain wheat. If it's from a restaurant, you'll need to ask what's in the sushi, and ask about the soy sauce. I think sushi tastes just fine without the sauce :) Else you can use Tamari sauce - it should always be made from soy beans, whereas soy sauce can be from soy beans or wheat.


Feb 2010 - Start of continuous GIT problems and panic attacks

July 2010 - Blood and biopsy -ve, went gluten free after testing which completely relieved symptoms

July 2011 - 1 year gluten free, food intolerances (Chicken, eggs, olives, goat milk) gone!

2012 - Soy no longer a problem

*************************************************************

Gluten intolerant

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi,

welcome to the forum! You'll definitely get all the help you need here - I've only been gluten free two weeks now and have read the forum almost daily to help me along the way. I don't want to repeat everything they've said, as I'm sure you have plenty to get you started.

Keep asking questions, use google and chat to friends. I've been surprised how many people know or are gluten intolerant/sensitive. You'll soon get a great support base going!

Eat lots of fresh veggies, fruit, seeds, nuts, fish - you're new lifestyle definitely does not need to be a boring one!

Once you start feeling the benefits of going gluten free, you'll be super grateful for the changes you are making!

All the best - wishing you fantastic health!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My chewing gum had gluten. I also found that some of the medications in our cabinet contain gluten - mostly the Children's liquid, flavored, stuff. I just check everything on line or call the manufacturer.

If it is a processed food and does not say "gluten free" on it, I check it.

Cara

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites