tita2

Newbie, Testing Questions

Rate this topic

Hello all,

I am new to the whole gluten thing. I have been researching it for the past couple of months since a friend discovered her own sensitivity and feels better on a gluten free diet. She tested negative to celiac. I have had digestive problems for years, migraines, depression and a host of other issues. I finally started to eat gluten free (as much as I can) only 5 days ago and feel some difference. A while back I discussed it with my doctor and asked to be tested, but he quickly insisted I could not be celiac unless I had extreme symptoms, and mine have never been severe. Since then, I have become more informed. My question is this, why be tested if you already know you're feeling better on a gluten free diet? I want the test, but my friend thinks it is unnecessary. From what I have been reading so far, I disagree. Also, how do I convince my doctor that a test would be beneficial?

Thanks for your time and information. Great website and forum!

tita

This is the collective test that you should have your doctor order, if you would like to be tested for Celaic:

Anti-Gliadin (AGA) IgA

Anti-Gliadin (AGA) IgG

Anti-Endomysial (EMA) IgA

Anti-Tissue Transglutaminase (tTG) IgA

Deamidated Gliadin Peptide (DGP) IgA and IgG

Total Serum IgA

It's important that you should be eating a full gluten diet, before testing for optimum accuracy.

Many people here are self diagnosed and they feel quite comfortable with that. Walk around this site and read others experiences. To test or not to test is a personal decision that only you can make. :) Some people want an official diagnosis, some people just feel better off gluten. :)

And Welcome!