lunacat

Wheat Addict Needs Help

Rate this topic

I am not sure if I have a gluten sensitivity or celiac disease, but I would like to eliminate it from my diet. Doing that has been incredibly difficult for me. I did have a blood test for celiac disease which came back negative. But I believe that wheat causes problems for me, and several symptoms seem to be attributed to my consumption of it. However, I'm unsuccessful with the gluten free diet every time I try. I generally last about a week at most, and then end up consuming wheat. I can't stop craving it. If I consume the wheat after having not eaten any, even if for just one day, I can get really sick. It usually feels like my brain has been poisoned. It definitely alters my perception and inhibits my ability to think clearly. I've had some worrying experiences where I've felt completely incoherent in thinking and get dizzy, wobbly, and basically can't function.

I grew up eating a lot of wheat and always craved it. I was always very spaced out and did poorly in school. I was also always tired and unhealthy, and many times I've been accused of using drugs due to my spacey behavior. I never did drugs, but I did used to feel very strange, mentally, and never knew why. I've also always been very thin (boney), gaunt looking, always had constipation problems, trouble focusing, poor mental clarity. I don't know if this is entirely due to wheat, but when I cut out the gluten foods, my mental state improves dramatically.

I really need to go successfuly gluten free for a long term period, just to see the results if nothing else. But I think I am addicted to wheat. It's very frustrating. Sorry if this post is a long rant.

Edited by lunacat

Welcome Lunacat!

Yes, many of us get fuzzy headed along with many other symptoms when we consume gluten.