Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

AmyM

Possible Newbie Here--Can Anyone Interpret These Labs?

Hello all!  I was just told 2 days ago that I "may" have celiac's disease.  Awesome.

My doctor just now put these labs into my online folder and I won't be able to talk w/her til next week, but am DYING to know what they mean!!  Can anyone help??  I'll be forever grateful! :P

Total Salivary SIgA    11 Normal

Endomysial Antibody IgA  <2 Negative

Gliadin Ab, SIgA (Saliva)    >32 Positive

What does all this mean??  Do I or don't I have to start shopping in the gluten-free sections?

If it matters, I was diagnosed w/Graves Disease in 2011, had RAI therapy on my thyroid in 2013, went hypothyroid, and after trying many things, am currently on Armour to treat my now hypo-thyroid. 

I also have absolutely NONE of the celiac disease symptoms.  Never have.  I have always been able to eat anything I want and am really never sick.

Thank you for any wisdom you can shed so I don't have to wonder all weekend.

--AmyM

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

I am not knowledgeable about saliva tests. The standard is a blood panel followed with an endoscopy to obtain intestinal tissue samples.

In any case, keep eating gluten as the doctor may go forward with the endoscopy or do other tests.

Oh, anemia was my only symptom at the time I was diagnosed. Some folks have none! But you already have one autoimmune disorder (Graves) and when you have one autoimmune disorder you can develop more.

Read the University of Chicago's celiac website. It lists testing and the 300 possible symptoms associated with celiac disease.

Non-functioning Gall bladder Removal Surgery 2005

Diagnosed via Blood Test and Endoscopy: March 2013

Hashimoto's Thyroiditis -- Stable 2014

Anemia -- Resolved

Fractures (vertebrae): June 2013

Osteopenia/osteoporosis -- June 2013