This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Possible Newbie Here--Can Anyone Interpret These Labs?

AmyM

AmyM Newbie

Hello all!  I was just told 2 days ago that I "may" have celiac's disease.  Awesome.

My doctor just now put these labs into my online folder and I won't be able to talk w/her til next week, but am DYING to know what they mean!!  Can anyone help??  I'll be forever grateful! :P

Total Salivary SIgA    11 Normal

Endomysial Antibody IgA  <2 Negative

Gliadin Ab, SIgA (Saliva)    >32 Positive

What does all this mean??  Do I or don't I have to start shopping in the gluten-free sections?

If it matters, I was diagnosed w/Graves Disease in 2011, had RAI therapy on my thyroid in 2013, went hypothyroid, and after trying many things, am currently on Armour to treat my now hypo-thyroid. 

I also have absolutely NONE of the celiac disease symptoms.  Never have.  I have always been able to eat anything I want and am really never sick.

Thank you for any wisdom you can shed so I don't have to wonder all weekend.

--AmyM

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

cyclinglady Grand Master

I am not knowledgeable about saliva tests. The standard is a blood panel followed with an endoscopy to obtain intestinal tissue samples.

In any case, keep eating gluten as the doctor may go forward with the endoscopy or do other tests.

Oh, anemia was my only symptom at the time I was diagnosed. Some folks have none! But you already have one autoimmune disorder (Graves) and when you have one autoimmune disorder you can develop more.