This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Help Celiac.com:
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Need A Substitute For Butter/margerine

Claire

Claire Collaborator

I am just beginning to try Gluten-free Casein-free cooking. Most fat substitutes are soy based. I seem to be able to drink soymilk (predigested) but not eat soy products without annoying though not severe reaction. As my immune system doesn't need to be over stimulated I am looking for a sub for the soy based spreads. I find that liquids don't do well as a sub for a solid.

No butter. No soy. What else is there? I suppose the Canadians here have found the very very fine Canadian lard.

Any ideas from all the experienced gluten-free bakers out there? Claire

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

tarnalberry Community Regular
I am just beginning to try Gluten-free Casein-free cooking.  Most fat substitutes are soy based. I seem to be able to drink soymilk (predigested) but not eat soy products without annoying though not severe reaction. As my immune system doesn't need to be over stimulated I am looking for a sub for the soy based spreads. I find that liquids don't do well as a sub for a solid.

No butter. No soy. What else is there? I  suppose the Canadians here have found the very very fine Canadian lard. 

Any ideas from all the experienced gluten-free bakers out there?  Claire

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

I primarily use oils - olive and canola, depending on the recipe, and adjust the other liquids in the recipe to compensate. (Butter has water in it, so usually when subing liquid oil, you have to *add* water, but in baking, it's always "try it and see what you get".)