Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

CherylS

glad you're here

Rate this topic

Hello,

I'm a pretty tough lady, I'm a nurse so I ignore a lot of symptoms and keep going about my day.  I have been having nausea and a weird feeling in my mouth every time I eat for at least 6 months.  I noticed my lips feeling almost numb after eating too.  Sometimes my inner ears itch after I eat, I never put this all together.  I have a hiatal hernia, I blamed my symptoms on that, it usually causes heartburn, I just figured it was my body being weird.

A couple months ago I was turned away from donating blood because my hemoglobin was too low, it was 9.4 and the blood bank nurse suggested I go to my doctor because that was really low and I looked pale.  I'd been having heart palpitations as well, so I decided to go see my doctor.  I went and after blood work I was diagnosed with iron deficiency anemia.  I started eating more iron rich foods, taking a supplement, etc.  I'd been tired too, I  blamed the anemia.

I was really sick at work the other day after eating breakfast, my coworker said, I bet you are lactose or gluten intolerant.  I did nothing with this until today, I figured it was just her grasping at straws.

I looked up celiac disease and saw some of the common symptoms and conditions that could be related and my jaw dropped.  At the top of the list was autoimmune hepatitis, I was diagnosed with that 15 years ago.  I have so many of the symptoms, I thought my numb tingling hands were from typing on my phone, I thought the joint pain was my autoimmune hepatitis flaring up.  I thought the gross bowel movements and flatulence were from the fruits, vegetables, whole grains I've switched to.

I'm going to call my doctor tomorrow to be seen so we can start the process of being tested.