Frequently Asked Questions About Celiac Disease Read more... ×
2 2
Christory77

Question about lab work

Rate this topic

So I'm new to all of this. I don't really have stomach issues other than occasional heartburn. Went to a gastro Dr and she took some blood samples. There's a test where the range is 0-19. I have no idea what it is called but mine was 62. She recommended an endoscopy and my anxiety has completely taken over. I'm terrified. I know nothing about this other than what came up when I googled celiac. What came up was a lot of scary this is what can happen to you results. I'm beyond afraid and do t know what to do. Reaching out for help. 

Having celiac means you have to buy brand b instead of brand a. A diagnosis for most people just means they have to go gluten free. Think of it in phases.

phase 1 - eat all of your favorite stuff with wheat, barley and rye until after the official diagnosis.

phase 2 - eat stews and simple foods until your symptoms go away.

phase 3 - eat whatever you want as long as it's gluten free. There's lots of great tasting equivalents to the stuff you're used to. Barilla pasta, Canyon Bakehouse bread, Betty Crocker cakes.

Oh, and the endoscopy is easy peasy.

Thank you so much for saying that. I don't deal well with unexpected things and getting a phone call saying hey we want you to go to the hospital for an endoscopy has thrown me for a loop. I googled celiac and everything mentioned cancers, chirosis, and lots of scary stuff. It caused me to go into a panic. 

But! you found US. now all will be well.

The labs finally uploaded to my record. I'll post the results. Don't know what any of it means.

Component Results

Component Standard Range Your Value
Immunoglobulin A, Qn, Serum 90 - 386 mg/dL 202
Gliadin IgA 0 - 19 units 62
Gliadin IgG 0 - 19 units 2
T-Transglutaminase IgA 0 - 3 U/mL <2
T-Transglutaminase IgG 0 - 5 U/mL <2