Jump to content
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I don’t understand how companies can label their product as gluten free and then on the back of the package make a statement about “processed in a facility that uses wheat, dairy, etc. Wheat as we know contains gluten, so how can they get away with the words “Gluten Free”?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
38 minutes ago, Cindy Neshe said:

I don’t understand how companies can label their product as gluten free and then on the back of the package make a statement about “processed in a facility that uses wheat, dairy, etc. Wheat as we know contains gluten, so how can they get away with the words “Gluten Free”?

In the US, if the product doe not contain gluten, they can say gluten-free.  Just because there is wheat in the “ facility” does not make the product not gluten-free.

“Facility” is a broad term.  For some companies it means in the same campus - they might have 4 buildings in the facility.  Some have separate rooms in one big building.  If the manufacturer tests the product and it tests gluten-free, it doesn’t matter if the next machine over makes wheat flour ( of course that doesn’t happen).  Lots of “gluten “ is not loose flour that flies everywhere.  It may be pre- made crushed pretzels added to a chocolate bar.  Almond choco bars are made on their own machine.  Those pretzels aren’t really jumping up and running over to the almond bars.  (An example)

Same machinery could be an issue - that depends on the products and how easy it is to clean a machine.  

If you have concerns, they best way to understand is speak/ email/ read their site.

 

Edited by kareng

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This probably explains better than me- 

 

https://www.beyondceliac.org/celiac-disease/myths/

 

Read the whole thing but here is a little part- 

“...

 
If you find a product that is labeled gluten-free but bears a warning like this one, you can rest assured that the product must comply with the gluten-free labeling law. Even though foods can have an allergen advisory statements for wheat, if they are also labeled gluten-free, the product must meet the requirements of the gluten-free labeling rule. Basically, these labels are voluntary and the absence of an advisory statement does not automatically mean a product is produced in a dedicated gluten-free facility....”

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...