This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Help Celiac.com:
    eNewsletter
    Donate

CC Kitchen and Roommates

Hank-Richter

Hank-Richter Newbie

Hey Guys!  I love this forum, full of really useful information.  I am new to the gluten free world and have just been diagnosed with celiac disease.  I live in a apartment with 2 other roommates that are not gluten free.  We share the kitchen, utensils, and various other pots and pans.  I try to keep my dishes, forks, etc as separate as possible but I was recently ‘glutened’ and I’m trying to figure out why. I have a suspicion that it was because my roommates were not careful while cleaning share kitchen supplies, or I’m paranoid, I’m not sure anymore. I can’t figure out if it was more likely from gluten CC from “gluten-free” foods, lack of attention to detail when doing the dishes, or some something else, or are they all likely to happen?
I really appreciate any feedback and have been really trying to educate myself by browsing this forum.  Thanks for your help!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Scott Adams Grand Master

Cross contamination in your kitchen is certainly a possibility, but there are probably just too many variables for us to be able to figure it out. It’s also possible that gluten was in food you ate during that time.

I think the important thing for you is to move forward and try to make sure it doesn’t happen again rather than try to figure out how it happened. Be sure to explain to your roommates how important your diet is, and maybe create some protocols in your kitchen to protect yourself.

Ennis-TX Grand Master