This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Trying to get a diagnosis - help!

T1Mom

T1Mom Newbie

I'm new to this.  I have a daughter with Type 1 Diabetes, so Celiac Disease has been on our radar for 7 years with her.  It's our other two kids, though, who are showing signs of celiac including positive genetics.  My son's genes are:

DQA1: 1:03, 5:01 and DQB1: 2:01, 6:03

He was tested back in 2016 and the GI we saw encouraged us that it was probably nothing and just to keep an eye on things. He has had severe keratosis pilaris his whole life, major constipation issues, and also struggles with anxiety and depression.  He has been diagnosed with atopic allergies and has allergy-induced asthma.  He has also had intermittent low ferritin, which apparently is uncommon in males.

My other (non-Type 1) daughter just got her genes tested this week.  Her results are:

DQA1: 5:01, 5 and DQB1: 2:01, 2:01

Her symptoms have been pretty major including extreme fatigue, depression, weight gain, bloating, constipation, crazy skin flare ups including keratosis pilaris on her arms and legs and red flushes on her face, anxiety, emotional rollercoaster, chronic low ferritin levels (despite aggressive supplementation), and subclinical hyperthyroid numbers.  

The dr. wants our daughter to take a new prescription iron supplement and try a gluten free diet for 2 months.

I've tried to read on this site about interpreting the genes and got very confused.  I'm also reading that trying the diet might compromise our getting a positive diagnosis in the future as the tests might not register.