Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

nikki8

Lipton Onion Soup Mix?

Recommended Posts


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Yes, the Lipton is gluten-free. :)


Kim

"Life isn't about how to survive the storm

but how to dance in the rain."

Positive bloodwork 1/9/06

gluten-free since 1/12/06

Very positive dietary response

DS (12 years old)

Biopsy 7/7/06 ~ Diagnosed Celiac 7/12/2006

gluten-free since 7/15/2006

DD (almost 6)

HLA-DQ2 positive

Celiac Bloodwork negative 2 different times

Still eating gluten for now.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hmm.. I heard that it wasn't gluten-free. You might want to contact Lipton to verify.

Nancy


The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person who is doing it.

~Chinese Proverb

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Hmm.. I heard that it wasn't gluten-free. You might want to contact Lipton to verify.

Nancy

the only thing i was worried about with that mix is that is says "spices" i have a book that said wheat may be a binder for the spices to prevent it from clumping/caking. i've had it and felt sick

good luck!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I believe that the Lipton Onion Soup is gluten-free, but it's their only variety that is.


Patti

"Life is what happens while you're busy making other plans"

"When people show you who they are, believe them"--Maya Angelou

"Bloom where you are planted"--Bev

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Lipton's onion soup (regular and cup-a) is gluten-free, but it is the only Lipton soup that is gluten-free. All the others have noodles.


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just sent an email to them to see if we can get a verification. I would be SOOOO happy if they confirm it's okay. I'll let you guys know what they say.

Nancy


The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person who is doing it.

~Chinese Proverb

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here's the email I got back. It looks like Lipton has gotten on the bandwagon with Kraft and some of the other big companies and will clearly declare if there is any gluten or other allergens in their product. Like they say, they won't use the term "natural flavors", or a chemical name if it's an allergen or gluten source. Just read the label every time you buy / use it to make sure there hasn't been a formula change.

This is awesome news! I've been on a food slump lately, and this will be great to be able to add back in. Now if we could only convince Campbells to re-work their cream of mushroom soup... ;)

Here's the email -

................................

Hello Nancy,

Thank you for writing!

We do appreciate your interest in our company and its products.

When common allergens are used in our products, we list these under our

ingredients. THE COMMON ALLERGENS WHICH LIPTON LISTS, IF PRESENT, are:

Milk, Eggs, Fish, Shellfish, Wheat, Soy, Peanuts or other Nuts. Lipton

makes every effort to stay informed about any additional ingredients

that could be considered common allergens. Also whenever possible, we

try to avoid using materials or ingredients that could be considered to

be commonly allergenic, so that potential allergens are not included

into categories such as "Natural Flavors".

Gluten is found in wheat rye, barley, and oats.

Because our products are formulated for use by the majority of our

consumers, and not specifically for those on restricted diets, it is

possible our product formulations may change at any time. As a result,

we cannot provide a list due to several factors:

- Lists of this type reflect products as formulated at a specific time

- Possible that more products/varieties may have been added

- More important, changes in existing products may have occurred

Therefore, we suggest reading all ingredient labels carefully.

We hope this information is helpful.

Your friends at Recipe Secrets

.............................


The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person who is doing it.

~Chinese Proverb

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It dosen't say that they will list "Rye, Barley, or Oats"... just wheat... (as required by law)... but good to know they will "try" to avoid using the "natural" staement.

Thanks for the info.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The regular Lipton Onion Soup Mix should be gluten free, but I believe the Kosher version is not. Just be careful when buying it, it doesn't say Kosher on the front.


Jillian

Positive Blood test and Biopsy

Inflamed stomach lining

Gluten free since July 6, 2005

Tarrytown, NY

"Sometimes being a b$tch is all a woman has to hold onto." - Dolores Claiborne

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've had it - and it's fine. Makes a great dip mixed with sour cream with UTZ potato chips (Say gluten-free right on the label).

Also really good baked into hamburger, or baked with potato wedges in the oven.

Yum!


Amy

Gluten Free since 4/05 - adult onset

Symptoms for 4+ years prior

Immediate family tests negative

No Known family members w/ celiac disease

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites