This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Celiac Father- First Time?

jhughes

jhughes Newbie

Hi, all! This is my first time here....I am looking for any information regarding becoming pregnant with a celiac father. I am non celiac, and my husband was diagnosed in 2000. I would like to know if should I eat a celiac diet during pregnancy? We are not pregnant yet, but I can't seem to find any information on this topic. All I can find is information on pregnant celiac mothers. I wonder if there is any research out there on what percent chance we have of producing a celiac baby?!?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

happygirl Collaborator

Celiac is linked to two main genes, HLA DQ2 and HLA DQ8. Your husband probably has one or both of them, and you very well may have one or both of them. These genes are common in America (about 30%) of the population has one/both genes, so obviously, having the gene itself doesn't mean that any one person will have it. Current estimates are that 1 in 133 Americans have Celiac.

You child to be could be gene tested right away, after birth, to know if he/she has the gene, thereby greatly reducing your worry if the gene test is negative.

I highly recommend the book listed in my signature. It goes into the current research on pregnancy, breastfeeding, etc. Gliadin (the problematic part of gluten) goes through the breastmilk.

Some families have multiple Celiacs, others have only one...they just dont really know why yet.

From celiaccenter.org (led by Dr. Fasano):