Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Recommended Posts

Hi, I am new to the forum (actually this is the first forum I have ever used)

I am wondering if any have tried the "Only Oats" quick flakes. It states that it is wheat free - I saw on line that it said it was safe for Celiacs. I am so leary of trying this item.........help!

Thanks all.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Hi, I am new to the forum (actually this is the first forum I have ever used)

I am wondering if any have tried the "Only Oats" quick flakes. It states that it is wheat free - I saw on line that it said it was safe for Celiacs. I am so leary of trying this item.........help!

Thanks all.

I am new to this as well. I just got diagnosed 2 weeks ago and miss my oatmeal, so hopefully someone can answer it. My naturopath did mention that cooked Quinoea tastes very similar.

Good luck :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sometimes wheat free does not mean gluten free. You might want to see there is no barley or rye or malt in it. I am actually not familiar with this product but that should help you out.


~~~~Gluten Free since 9/2004~~~~~~

Friends may come and go but Sillies are Forever!!!!!!!

36_22_10[1].gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a box of that stuff, but haven't tried it yet.

It is really just oats, there's no other ingredient. The reason they call it "Only Oats" is because it's produced in a dedicated field (not crop rotated with wheat, barley, or rye), and processed on dedicated lines. Hence, if you are one of the 90% or of celiacs who do not react to avenin, the oat protein, you'll should be fine.


Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"

Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy

G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004

Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me

Bellevue, WA

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
It is really just oats, there's no other ingredient. The reason they call it "Only Oats" is because it's produced in a dedicated field (not crop rotated with wheat, barley, or rye), and processed on dedicated lines. Hence, if you are one of the 90% or of celiacs who do not react to avenin, the oat protein, you'll should be fine.

Is it really 90% that don't react? Just wondering if you've seen a study that shows that number.


Gluten-Free since September 15, 2005.

Peanut-Free since July 2006.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Is it really 90% that don't react? Just wondering if you've seen a study that shows that number.

I got that out of my own meta study - around 10% of patients either having actual findings or dropping out of the study due to symptoms (about which I made my own conclusions), but have seen it quoted by real ceilac researchers. A lot of studies are showing no damage, or only small changes or symptoms, but generally no statistically significant change in serology or biopsy. I can't find the studies that I'd read before, though. If I come across them again, I'll post them.


Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"

Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy

G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004

Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me

Bellevue, WA

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've been eating oats since the beginning of gluten-free oats several years ago. Here is what I was told. Do not eat oats for at least a year after going gluten-free. Give your body a chance to heal itself.If you are super sensitive do NOT eat oats....

The next advice was to take it very slowly when starting to add oats to your gluten-free diet. 1/2 cup per serving maybe a couple times a week at first. After over two years I still only eat 1/2 cup dry oats cooked in 1 cup water until liquid is asborbed sveral times a week. This will most likely make a change in your bowel movements because of the added roughage from the oats.So GO SLOWLY.

I believe there are four gluten-free oat companies now... Only oats, gluten free oats ,Powell Wy,

Cream Hill Estates, & Bob's Red MIll gluten-free oats.

I react to some of Bob's products so I don't eat those ones.

hth

mamaw

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites