This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Is This A Gluten Reaction?

wwebby

wwebby Apprentice

I'm still pretty new to eating gluten free and have been, I think, very good for the last month. Could today's incident be a gluten reaction?

I woke up late and missed breakfast. At school (I'm a teacher) during my free period I bought an apple and two bags of Frito Lay Baked Lays to eat. The only questionable ingredient was "modified food starch" but I thought I had read somewhere that their food starch was corn-derived.

About 2-3 hours later, around 1 pm, I had stomach and instestinal pains and then I slept all afternoon, I felt so drowsy. My stool this afternoon was slightly "off" but not too bad (I don't want to give too much detail!!).

Since I never noticed my reactions to gluten before and/or I'm getting more sensitive now that I'm gluten free, I wondered if this was a gluten reaction. Does it seem like one? Thanks.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

MySuicidalTurtle Enthusiast

Do you usually eat Frito-Lays products?

(FormFrito-Lay)

"The above products do not contain gluten nor casein; however, they are produced on the same line as our products that do contain gluten and casein. Although the lines are washed between batches, a slight residue may remain on the lines. Individuals who are extremely sensitive may be affected."

They have Baked Lays on their gluten-free list.

However, I know that I personally have reactions to their products.

Carriefaith Enthusiast