Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
PeggyV

Got Glutened Lsat Night

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

We ate out at a very nice, small neighborhood restaurant last night for our anniversary. I called ahead and talked to the chef/owner and she said not problem about accommodating me. This is the type of place that serves you soup, appetizer, salad, your choice of two entrees and desert for one price. She cooks with organic fresh herbs and produce, most grown in her garden. She made a special entree for me. I checked and the lentil soup was fine, the salad with walnuts and balsamic dressing was all home made. She did have an assortment of goat and ewe cheeses imported from France. I did notice that after one slice had what looked like a blue cheese through it. I ate part of the cheeses before I noticed it. For desert, she had berries in a white chocolate cup with shaved chocolate.

Does anyone know if the white chocolate cup could have contained gluten? I doubt she made those. Or maybe the cheese? I am hoping she just didn

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Its possible that the white chocolate cup was dusted with something on the assembly line. If they make in house which we do sometimes, we use a balloon without dusting. Bleu cheese is rarely made from a bread mold now but since it was imported that could be a slight possibility. Sounds like she did her best to take care of you. Hope you feel better soon!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
We ate out at a very nice, small neighborhood restaurant last night for our anniversary. I called ahead and talked to the chef/owner and she said not problem about accommodating me. This is the type of place that serves you soup, appetizer, salad, your choice of two entrees and desert for one price. She cooks with organic fresh herbs and produce, most grown in her garden. She made a special entree for me. I checked and the lentil soup was fine, the salad with walnuts and balsamic dressing was all home made. She did have an assortment of goat and ewe cheeses imported from France. I did notice that after one slice had what looked like a blue cheese through it. I ate part of the cheeses before I noticed it. For desert, she had berries in a white chocolate cup with shaved chocolate.

Does anyone know if the white chocolate cup could have contained gluten? I doubt she made those. Or maybe the cheese? I am hoping she just didn

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

According to the Canadian Celiac Assoc, all their tests showed that even blue cheese started from bread mold is gluten-free. I've never heard of white chocolate with gluten. Any time you eat at a restaurant, CC is a possibility.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Chocolate shavings are a possibility. Celiacs cannot have many types of chocolate, including Godiva and Lindt and many others.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×