Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
Coleslawcat

Catholic Receiving Communion

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I am newly diagnosed with celiac. I had very mild symptoms so I don't know how sensitive I really am to gluten, but I was advised to cut it out entirely so I am doing that. I learned that communion wafers contain gluten so I contacted the pastor at my parish to ask if there was an alternative way to receive communion because the blood/wine is not offered at most masses. He did a little research and told me there is a low gluten host available that contains no more than .01% gluten that is approved for use by the Catholic church. Would this be ok for me to take? Does it depend on my sensitivity? I'm sure I'm not the only one in this position so I would appreciate insight.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My very personal opinion, since I have a problem with gluten I take gluten free crackers with me. It is after all a symbolic ritual and it should count only what's in my heart, not what the items I use. If it really mattered it would not be wine and a wafer that were served. Those are symbolic.

Would your pastor bless some gluten free crackers for you to use?

There certainly are gluten free options if your pastor isn't willing to let you use gluten free crackers

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I am newly diagnosed with celiac. I had very mild symptoms so I don't know how sensitive I really am to gluten, but I was advised to cut it out entirely so I am doing that. I learned that communion wafers contain gluten so I contacted the pastor at my parish to ask if there was an alternative way to receive communion because the blood/wine is not offered at most masses. He did a little research and told me there is a low gluten host available that contains no more than .01% gluten that is approved for use by the Catholic church. Would this be ok for me to take? Does it depend on my sensitivity? I'm sure I'm not the only one in this position so I would appreciate insight.

The low-gluten host would be fine if you don't react to them. You may find, however, that the longer you are gluten-free, the more sensitive you become. (this doesn't happen to everyone, but it can happen)

You could speak to your priest again and ask if you could buy a small chalice and have it there for your use only.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
It is after all a symbolic ritual

Not for Catholics. I don't want to debate this with you, and I understand that other denominations approach communion this way. Catholics do not.

The gluten-free host has never caused me to react. Also, read up on spiritual communion. Understanding that has helped me tremendously.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am avoiding communion. I am not comfortable with someone else touching a communion wafer even if it is gluten free. Our church shares the challis so wine is not an option either.

I may bring this up with my priest at some point. However, I do know God understands why I am not taking part of this sacrament.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is simply a matter of dogma and belief:

http://www.newadvent.org/bible/joh006.htm#vrs26

The council of Trente made it clear that what you (believe) are eating is the body and blood of Christ.

The 1st Nicean Council made it clear in the Nicene Creed that the body of Christ is 'of one substance'. they even invented a new greek word to 'clarify this'. (ἐκπορεύεσθαι)

The later modifications at the council of Constantinople do not change this.

(G

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×