This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

I Think I'M Still Consuming Gluten Somewhere, But Where?

c12

c12 Rookie

I went gluten-free a few months ago, and have been seeing improvement. But I'm still having a some (milder) issues and I think I'm getting traces of gluten somewhere. I've been doing my best with reading labels, but I'm still not an expert at it yet. I went through my pantry trying to find the problem foods, but nothing's jumped out at me yet.

Are there any unusual places to look for gluten that most people wouldn't think of? What are some foods that people commonly get unknowingly glutened with?

I just need some suggestions for what I might be missing.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

mushroom Proficient

Some jams and preserves are thickened with gluten. also be sure to check all relishes and sauces. It is hard for me to remember now because everything gets tossed or doesn't come in in the first place. Really, you do just have to look at every label :(

ciavyn Contributor

From what I understand, it could also just be that your system needs more time. Every instance I have of a symptom, I'm looking around for something explain it! But lately, I've only been eating whole foods, and the reality is, I'm just not healed up yet. It's better, but not perfect.

GFinDC Veteran

You could have other food intolerances also. Carrots are bad for me, and soy, and dairy. Some people have problems with nightshades, or eggs etc.