masterjen

Effects Of Celiac On The Brain

Rate this topic

Hi,

I've noticed that since the symptoms of celiac started and during this early phase of going gluten-free, my thinking and thought processes are slower, I have trouble concentrating and staying focused on a task I'm doing (even if it is something I really like to do), and I have also noticed some memory difficulties. My head frequently has a mild-to-moderate sense of pressure in the temples and across the forehead. Are these symptoms there because gluten can actually affect the brain in celiacs, or is it the celiac disease itself that is affecting the brain? Are these "brain issues" something I can expect to eventually get better, or do they persist?

Hi- I think that you'll find that many people here had what we call "brain fog" like you mention. I put my keys in the refrigerator, forgot to turn my grades in (I'm a teacher at a college and gave them to the students but forgot to give them to the college- got in trouble!).

Gluten can have PROFOUND neuroligical effects on everything from mood to movement. After you have been gluten-free for awhile, it should get much, much better.

. After you have been gluten-free for awhile, it should get much, much better.

much much!

I too have experienced the "fogg" for years but was unaware of what it was. It makes me very hesitant to drive or make important decisions. I can't wait for this to improve!

Hi,