Indiana Joan

Gluten Gluten Everywhere

Rate this topic

I went gluten-free in March and now I'm feeling better in so many ways. I'm still learning as I go and this forum has taught me more than anything else, especially about the wide variety of obvious symptoms from gluten intolerance.

My problem is that I see people all around me who are obviously gluten intolerant. I try not to say anything but sometimes I just can't keep my mouth shut. :huh: I only want to help though, and I only bring it up to close friends and relatives, not everyone I talk to.

Well, each person I told so far has blown me off like I'm nuts. There's "nothing wrong with them, they just have a backache" or "migraine" or "asthsma" or "diabetes" or "fibromyalgia" or "they've been this way their whole life." Moreover, their doctors would have told them OR they've already been tested for it and the test was negative. I only want to shed some light to help them but you can lead a horse to water but you can't make him drink, right?

Like the other day one of my obvious-gluten-and-dairy-intolerant-friends said to me, "Why do I carry all this weight up here (abdominal area) and why is this weight so hard to lose?" My reply was, "It's inflammation and bloating, not fat." She looked puzzled.:unsure:

What I'm getting at is that I really think this gluten problem is far more widespread than anyone can imagine. A lot of times "us people" who don't eat gluten feel so isolated, when in fact I think the only way we're isolated is that we understand a food substance is the cause for all our unrelated health issues while others have no clue or are in denial.

Honestly, I think it's just a matter of time before thousands more jump on the gluten-free band wagon. Look at where we are today compared to ten years ago! Who would've thought? :o