Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

looking4help

Got Glutened But Can't Figure Out From What

Recommended Posts

The cheese was already shredded! UGHHHHH

Thank you for telling me about this. I had no clue before you told me. Now, I definitely will be adding this danger to my list of lookouts.

**Sigh**

Did you shred the cheese? Or was it shredded in the package?

Often shredded cheese in packages has a light dusting of gluten, just to keep it free-flowing when taken out of the package. Manufactures often use this trick on frozen foods too.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Did you shred the cheese? Or was it shredded in the package?

Often shredded cheese in packages has a light dusting of gluten, just to keep it free-flowing when taken out of the package. Manufactures often use this trick on frozen foods too.

The shredded cheese I have says potato starch. I always get Kraft which will list any gluten containing ingredients. I would like to know what shredded cheese you have seen with "gluten" and what frozen foods would have gluten dusted on them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just checked my shredded cheese and as far as I can tell it doesn't have any gluten.

Please share what brand had dusting of gluten so I can avoid it in the future.

Thanks!

The shredded cheese I have says potato starch. I always get Kraft which will list any gluten containing ingredients. I would like to know what shredded cheese you have seen with "gluten" and what frozen foods would have gluten dusted on them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm looking at a package of Food Lion shredded mozzarella and it has "potato starch, corn starch and calcium sulfate added to prevent caking". Thus far I've never seen a shredded cheese that has gluten added to prevent caking.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've only had a problem with one shredded cheese and that was a long time ago and since I was early in the diet it may not even have been the cheese. I stick with Kraft or the name brand at either Wegmans or Food Club at another local store. Most companies I have found are listing potato starch as a noncaking agent. Some will list cellulose and noone has ever been able to tell me what that is derived from but if you stick with Kraft you are going to be safe.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Very interesting. What type of testing can I have done to figure out if I have any other type of allergies?

I went in for a skin prick test but because I couldn't breathe to some level in the little machine the tech said she could not do the tests because I could die from not breathing. I have a hernia in my diaphragm that I am convinced causes issues with my breathing.

I want to get allergy testing done so badly but don't know what to ask for.

Thanks!

The best test is your own body telling you.

Stop eating the top 8 food allergens and nightshades for a few weeks. Then try adding one of them for 3 days straight and see what happens.

You don't have to make things any more complicated than that.

If you are having symptoms and they clear up when you remove the food, that all the testing you need.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The only thing new in the diet was taco bell mild sauce and some ortega Whole Grain taco shells which were gluten free and a taco seasoning that I read and thought was gluten free but maybe I missed something?

The shells have this listed: whole yellow kernal corn, partially hydrogenated soybean oil, maltodextrin, corn bran, water, salt and hydrated lime.

In my gluten-free food guide it says that Ortega shells can be cc'd. They do have procedures in place to stop CC but there is no guarantee. I'm sorry you got glutened!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I knew it had to be the shells! They were the only new thing all weekend. Plus I felt gluten attacked Friday night when we first ate them and then again Saturday night when I had them as leftovers. UGH!! Will NOT be getting those again!

Gluten-Free food guide? Where did you find this? Can you point me in that direction?

Thanks for everyone's help!

b

In my gluten-free food guide it says that Ortega shells can be cc'd. They do have procedures in place to stop CC but there is no guarantee. I'm sorry you got glutened!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...