This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Gaining Muscle

katharos

katharos Newbie

I am new to gluten free and bodybuilding, and trying to figure some things out. I diagnosed myself celiac in Sep. 2010 and quit gluten (no official medical diagnosis), and I've always been a little scrawny. I'm 25 years old, 6'3", and averaged 170 lbs. for years, but little muscle mass apparent. So now that I actually CAN, I want to start gaining some muscle mass (and burning the small amount of flab hanging around). I've figured out the gluten free diet pretty well, and got a good workout plan. I have a few questions if anyone could help.

I just got glutened figuring out I can't eat gluten free oats, and I just started loading creatine. Should I keep on with the creatine even if I have to miss a few workouts (because of the reaction)?

During a gluten reaction, does it do any good to keep working out? (Assuming I'm capable.) I'm just thinking of absorption problems.

I've read you should eat some extra calories when you work out, but I can't figure out if you're supposed to eat extra calories on your off days. Any suggestions for off day consumption?

All the workout plans I've seen say to do them three days a week. Is it okay to sandwich different workouts on the in between days? What do you do on the off days to keep from sitting around?

Thanks!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

NorthernElf Enthusiast

I'm a fitness instructor & avid exerciser (runner, swimmer, lifter). Any advice I can give you is from my experience & may or may not help you !