This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Job Interviews--How To Bring Up Celiac?

pinktulip103

pinktulip103 Newbie

Hello everyone! I was just diagnosed with celiac disease through a positive blood test and endoscopy two weeks ago. This forum has been so helpful! I am currently a graduate student studying biology and will be interviewing for postdoctoral positions this fall. Usually, for post-doc interviews, prospective employers will fly you out and you'll spend a few days meeting everyone in the lab and this always involves meals out at restaurants (basically EVERY meal is eaten out). At this point, I do not feel comfortable AT ALL eating anything prepared by someone other than myself. I have been eating entirely unprocessed foods and have already seen improvement in my migraines and BMs. Also, I will have no say in the restaurants and reservations will probably be made beforehand. I am already freaking out about how to handle this! When I am trying to set up interviews, should I bring up my celiac disease beforehand? I feel like it would be much better to tell them in advance versus them picking me up at the airport and taking me to dinner and saying "oh, by the way....I have celiac disease and can't eat...". But then again, I don't want to sound demanding in emails before I even show up to interview. I really don't feel like I should risk getting sick before I have to give a 1-2 hour job talk on my research! Also, when I go to these interviews, I will not have my own transportation and probably won't even know what hotel/where in town I am staying until I get there. What foods can I pack so that I don't starve for 2-3 day