luckymommatoo

Blood Test Results -- What Do They Mean?

Rate this topic

So this is completely out of the blue for me. I thought I was lactose intolerant, but the NP said, "let's just test you for gluten."

Here's what came back:

Tiss Transglutamin IgA 62 High -- gluten intolerance

Anti-Gliadin IgA Ab >100 High

IgA 98 Normal

I have a call into the NP, but am trying to figure out what the heck these mean. Does "gluten intolerance" = celiac?

thanks,

-e

Welcome!

The first two tests show an immune system reacting to gluten, as in celiac disease. The third test says your overall immune system is normal. Low on the third test could suggest a false negative on the first two, which is why it has to be done.

I'm not a doctor, so I can't diagnose, but...

Peter, thanks for the quick reply! Sigh. I don't know if I'm ready to go down this rabbit hole...

Still waiting for a call back from the NP. Would a GI referral be normal at this point? I'm not very symptomatic, so it's not affecting my life very much.

Welcome!

The first two tests show an immune system reacting to gluten, as in celiac disease. The third test says your overall immune system is normal. Low on the third test could suggest a false negative on the first two, which is why it has to be done.

I'm not a doctor, so I can't diagnose, but...

So this is completely out of the blue for me. I thought I was lactose intolerant, but the NP said, "let's just test you for gluten."

Here's what came back:

Tiss Transglutamin IgA 62 High -- gluten intolerance

Anti-Gliadin IgA Ab >100 High

IgA 98 Normal

I have a call into the NP, but am trying to figure out what the heck these mean. Does "gluten intolerance" = celiac?

thanks,

-e

Well, celiac is defined as gluten intolerance, but you need a doctor to really give you the word. All I can say is with your labs, you're looking like a contender... :ph34r:

Do you have any other issues?

Autoimmune disorders