mta_464683

Help With Lab Results

Rate this topic

Hi all, noob here, first post. I've been having GI symptoms for about 8 years now, was diagnosed with IBS back then without any testing. However, in the past few months I've been having a lot of fatigue, muscle aches, twitching, tingling in my face, feet and hands in addition to the usual GI symptoms of diarrhea, constipation, bloating, gas, nausea, etc. Just got a lot of blood work done that may indicate I'm celiac. Here are the relevant test results:

TTG AB, IGG: 4 (0-19)

GLIADIN PEPTIDE, IGA: 18 (0-19)

GLIADIN PEPTIDE, IGG: 9 (0-19)

TTG AB, IGA: 25 (0-19) (weak positive)

IMMUNOGLOBULIN A: 226 (70-400)

IMMUNOGLOBULIN G: 995 (700-1600)

TSH: 5.070 (0.358-3.740)

Does this sound like celiac to you all? I know thyroid issues can cause false positives with TTG IGA but I don't think my high TSH could be the cause all my GI sx. I'm 30/m, so I also think thyroid disease would be rare for my group? I don't even know for sure I have hashi's or anything like that since this is the first time my TSH has been elevated (it was completely normal just 2 months ago!) My doc also thought it was significant that my gliadin IGA was at the high end of normal even though it was still in the range, since that is apparently a very specific celiac test. Does that sound right?

I have a biopsy scheduled in 5 days, but I think regardless of the result I'll give the gluten-free diet a try and see how I feel, then follow up with my doc about the thyroid issue. I'm actually kind of hoping gluten has been secretly responsible for all the stomach trouble I've had for years. I wouldn't miss it that much and I would like to feel better!

Thanks!