This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Gluten/anxiety/how Quickly Symptoms Disappear

AprilBeth2013

AprilBeth2013 Contributor

Okay…so I am new to all of this and I am self-diagnosed. I couldn't go to a doctor to verify my gluten intolerance/Celiacs because I had too severe of anxiety to even want to leave the house, much less go to a doctor's office. However, I am 100% (more like one billion percent) sure that I react to gluten.  My symptoms prior to starting gluten-free diet: rash on arms and legs (which I had been to 3-4 different doctors for prior to gluten-free diet), Raynaud's phenomenon, tingling legs and arms (also fell asleep), loss of enamel on my teeth, and panic attacks/ anxiety.  Within probably 1-2 weeks my rash and Raynaud's went away completely (AMAZING!).  Anxiety went away more slowly but DRAMATICALLY better. 

I have been gluten-free for about 1 year now. Each time I get glutened, I experience symptoms of course. 

However, I recently did something REALLY dumb. I drank an Odwalla that was not a gluten free one. In fact, a predominant ingredient was a wheat ingredient.  I drank the entire thing. 

Now, this has happened right after Christmas, but I feel like I am STILL feeling it.  Is this possible? I have terrible anxiety - the kind that makes me thing…"oh yeah this is how terrible this feels"…because I have had the joy of forgetting over the past months. But on top of that, over the last two weeks, I have started to feel queasy and get headaches.