Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

dopaminegirl

Colonoscopy Question

Hi everyone, 

I've got my first colonoscopy coming up on May 1st. I know a lot of you have had them done in the process of getting a diagnosis, so I was hoping you could answer my questions. 

My prescribed prep is 2 liters of NuLytely between 5 and 6 pm the night before my colonoscopy (following a day of clear liquid fasting), and then the next morning another 2 liters 5 hours before my colonoscopy. (so at 7am since my procedure is scheduled for 12:00).

My question is, how incapacitated should I expect to be the morning of my colonoscopy with that second round of NuLytely?

I only ask because I'm a graduate student, and therefore insane, and I'm trying to figure out if there is any chance that I could run in to lab the morning of my test around 10 am to do about 20 minutes of work. It would simplify my life and keep my boss happy if I could....

Thanks for your input

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

I would not count on it! First colonoscopy, I ended up in the ER for 8 hours after passing out in the hospital hallway after the procedure. The second was better, but I was weak from all the complications of celiac disease (anemia, etc.).

I am sure everyone has a different story.

Non-functioning Gall bladder Removal Surgery 2005

Diagnosed via Blood Test and Endoscopy: March 2013

Hashimoto's Thyroiditis -- Stable 2014

Anemia -- Resolved

Fractures (vertebrae): June 2013

Osteopenia/osteoporosis -- June 2013

Allergies and Food Intolerances

Diabetes -- January 2014

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

Join eNewsletter

Good  question... I know  for  sure  I couldn't  do that.... it  depends  how  how  cleaned  out  you get  at the first  go.....I get  leakage  no matter   what...(clear  & liquid ) but  I  couldn't  be  out  & about....

good  luck